Skip to content

High Carb Entry

November 28, 2004
by

Warning: This entry is high in starch and sugar….

The ‘Macaroni and Cheese’ fisherman rib scarf is complete and has an edging.

The edging came (sort of) from one of those great little Dover needlework books, Traditional Edgings to Crochet. Or something like that. It’s made with some spindled yarn made from a sample of superfine merino top in a shade called ‘Bird of Paradise’, sent to me by Lisa Souza. It’s hard to see in the picture but it was a simple edging to make and looks quite neat.

It is long enough to wind around my neck, but here is how I’ve preferred to wear it.

Looks kind of like the wimple on Mother Superior from the Sound of Music, doesn’t it? Peggy What-was-her-name. She, too, had bags under her eyes you could pack for an extended vacation… But it is cozy and sheds drizzle.

This came in the mail the other day. I was lucky enough to have won it, believe it or not, in Ryan’s little contest last week.

Isn’t it rich? It’s Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in ‘Rainbow.’ I’ve made socks in this colorway and it’s very striking. I’ve promised to make Emily a scarf from it, as it’s soft enough to go around her neck. I have cast on a teeny piece and started knitting in a simple basketweave pattern, and it looks so great that I’m hoping I can eke two teeny scarves out of 225 yards. Using the design that has a big buttonhole at about the 2/3rds mark, I should be able to, as it reduces the length needed to get a nice warm neck, and it cuts down on unnecessary bulk to stuff inside your jacket. I last used that design here to get some use out of about 100 yards of handspun.

Meanwhile, Emily got new mittens this weekend.

I felted them a tad, just in the kitchen sink with hot and cold water, to tighten them up a little, and they fit pretty well. I felted my Selbu mittens at the same time, and they fit better now too. Two hot washes with cold rinses, and a little bit of rubbing together, did just enough.

I love knitting for SMALL people. I started Emmy’s mittens Wednesday night and she wore them today.

6 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    November 29, 2004 3:42 am

    that scarf looks toasty πŸ™‚

  2. November 30, 2004 3:55 pm

    I found your blog through the Yarn Harlot and saw that you had a meeting of spinners in Baltimore. I live in Baltimore and am interested in learning to spin. Is there a place you know to get lessons?
    Cozy scarf, by the way!

  3. fiberaddikt permalink
    December 1, 2004 5:28 am

    Fantastic blog! And such a cute recipient of your lovely work…beautiful yarn too, I’m sure Emmy will enjoy scarves made from it.

  4. Mary in Boston permalink
    December 2, 2004 7:20 am

    Hi,
    Found your blog through Stephanie’s Yarn Harlot blog. Beautiful stuff you’re working on…
    For what it’s worth, I don’t think you have bags under the eyes at all…you should see mine!!! πŸ˜‰
    I will be checking in again and often.

  5. December 2, 2004 10:16 am

    Thanks for the tip! I’ll be calling Cloverhill today!

  6. December 2, 2004 6:23 pm

    Bwahaha! Mary, you can visit and comment early and often!!! -Prudence

Comments are closed.

