Skip to content

Half Measures

January 15, 2005
by

We have FOs and half FOs today here at Pink Tea, but first, for those of you that have been reading here for awhile:

I call this photo “victory is mine.” Enough said…

Here is half a pair of new socks for Emily.

The yarn is from the ebay seller “lotusblossom” who handpaints/dyes this stuff. It’s beautiful shades of pink and blue in a colorway called Pink Peonies. Not superwash, but I think it’ll be worth the handwashing.

Here is Saga Rose with one sleeve.

I found myself totally baffled by the row labeled “decrease for cuff”, I think the directions are messed up there. If I followed the instructions I would not have ended up with the number of stitches specified, so I got there my own way. One more sleeve to go.

OK here’s the real FO.

This is the Dale book 109 lace cardigan, knitted in cream Alpafina (50% wool/50% alpaca).

I started it June 12, 2004 (!) and finished it January 13th – except for the buttons which I’ll get to sometime soon – 6 teeny buttons with crocheted loops. I kept putting it aside for long periods of time because the lace pattern was frankly boring – a 12 row repeat, done forever. But it’s so pretty and lightweight and inviting.

It shed a lot while knitting so I don’t know if I’ll be able to wear it over a dark shirt as I’d planned. It used 7 full balls of Alpafina at 200 yards each, plus just enough of the 8th ball to sew down the neckband and make the button loops.

One tiny disaster happened with this. I always hang clamps and vise grips and so on from the bottom of sweaters on the wooly board when I’m trying to pull down the edges, and this time the vise grip left a rust spot on the bottom edge of the button band. So I’ll be searching for dye and rust removers at my supermarket tomorrow. Eww. But it’s still a lovely sweater and I’m very glad to have it off my plate. I’ll try to come up with an in-use picture soon.

My combing and spinning has taken a back seat to all this finishing but the cotswold cross is all combed and I’m going to finish spindling it and plying it in the next few days. My other WIPs are Mendocino, which has come along very quickly and is almost to the sleeve saddles, and the silk-from-hell shawl which has been abandoned since I devoted myself to Saga Rose. I also have 3 different skeins of very non-scratchy yarn to try making Emmy a scarf, and a couple of different things to make hats for myself. Need more time.

7 Comments
  1. Sam permalink
    January 15, 2005 10:30 am

    Victory is mine, sayeth the woman *and* the sweater – congratulations to both of you! You both look mahvelous. 🙂 Prudence, this is a beautiful grouping – can’t wait to see the Rose finished, and your Dale is simply elegant and classy. Is Emmy excited about the socks? Nice work!!!

  2. Angela permalink
    January 15, 2005 6:18 pm

    Woohoo – Victory is certainly yours when you look that good in that sweater!

  3. Debbie/St. Louis permalink
    January 15, 2005 7:22 pm

    They’re all beautiful but that lace is really special. Blue sweater looks great on you!

  4. January 15, 2005 9:05 pm

    Oh so worthy of sinful pride! Good luck with the rust stain.

  5. vanessa permalink
    January 16, 2005 6:58 am

    caroline, i LOVE the blue gansey, looks fantastic!

  6. January 16, 2005 12:12 pm

    Caroline, I love them ALL! Great work, as usual.

  7. January 19, 2005 4:25 am

    Beautiful work on all of your sweaters! I really like the lacy cardigan–that is a perfect design for those windy breezes in the summer… I might have to try this one 🙂
    Take care!

Comments are closed.

