Skip to content

Outstanding Mail Day

January 22, 2005
by

It snowed here all morning and until about 4 this afternoon, but the mail carrier made it down the street and brought me two packages.

We got some Cotton Fleece mill ends and three balls of stunning space-dyed bluefaced leicester (sport weight) from Paradise Fibers. And we got 4 hanks of alpaca/silk laceweight yarn and 3 hanks of hand dyed sock yarn from the new line of yarns at KnitPicks. I have to say that the new KnitPicks yarn is gorgeous, and nobody’s paying me to say so! I’m going to get some more stuff from them after I sell off a little more stash and finish some objects.

Someone was happy with the Cotton Fleece, since it’s for her.

The camera was wildly fooled on this picture. The picture of the yarn is pretty true, it’s between sky blue and turquoise. But her sweatshirt is dark jade. I can’t figure out why the camera decided they matched!

I’m on a push to finish things, as I love to have that total feeling of freedom that comes from finishing 2 or 3 things in the space of a week or two. Mendocino has a collar and button bands and needs a good block and some buttons, pictures of it soon. Emmy’s sock just needs about 10 more rows and a grafting, and she’ll have a new pair. I have some Silk Garden to make a moebius for myself, and it’s time to start a scarf for Emily, and I want to get into that space-dyed bluefaced leicester for socks for me.

Saga Rose is still sitting with one sleeve – I really want to clear the decks before I cut that last steek. I find a second sleeve much more disheartening than a second sock or second glove!
I did finish spindling the rest of my combed Cotswold cross fleece, now I have two hanks of about 40 grams and 65 meters. Don’t know what it will grow up to be, but for now I think it’s pretty enough as it is! I think I’ll comb Targhee next…

3 Comments
  1. January 24, 2005 10:52 am

    Oh, you and she are going to love that Cotton Fleece! Beware that it’s so smooth, it’s tricky to join a new ball in mid-row, but it really is lovely fun to knit with!

  2. Jen permalink
    January 27, 2005 6:55 am

    Emily sure does look happy about her new yarn! What is Mommy going to make her?
    How do you like the alpaca silk from KnitPicks? Is it as soft as one would expect?

  3. January 28, 2005 7:31 pm

    I will be interested in what you think of the KnitPicks yarn…I’ve been eyeing it myself for awhile. The price is awesome…let’s hope the yarn is as well!

Comments are closed.

