Skip to content

Mendocino x 2

January 30, 2005
by

I finally finished the ‘Mendocino’ cardigan, adult version, by Starmore from Pacific Coast Highway. This was not the most interesting knit, but I always have at least one project like that, for knitting at lunch hours and traffic lights or while Emmy is in the bathtub or taking swimming class.

The reason it was knit in a bland grey color (not my usual taste) was this:

We’ll have matching sweaters for a couple of years. Hers was done a couple of years ago in cotton/acrylic. Mine was done in Celtic Aran from stash, it took almost 9 balls and got worked on from October 31 to January 22.

The buttons are incredibly hard to photograph but they’re gorgeous.

They’re glass in a dark blue iridescent finish that changes color with changing light. I got them from the ebay seller spirit_inc. She sells beautiful Czech glass buttons in addition to other beads and jewelry supplies. I’ve been back and bought 3 other lots from her, I’m starting a button stash, erg.

I’ve been continuing my drive to finish stuff (I’m 1/3 down the second sleeve on Saga Rose), so I haven’t combed much except for sampling some of the lovely things waiting in my plastic tub of fleece.

The small ones in the back are Targhee and Rambouillet from here, the bigger poofy ones in the front are Shetland/Merino from here and Cormo from here. It’s all yummy, and from what I can tell in my limited fleece experience it is all Good Stuff, so I’m happy to give you the links to where it came from. Maybe someday when I get more ambitious I’ll bring up an unwashed and a washed lock of each one and make a more instructive photo!

This one is for Ryan:

The pattern is here (with comments on Roi’s version here) and the yarn is the Lorna’s Laces worsted weight that I won from Ryan. I only used a little over half the ball so I’m considering what to do with the other half… The hat is a little snug but I’ve found that if I pull it down over my forehead the cloche style doesn’t look as dorky on me, and it definitely fits. I lengthened the crown by about an inch over what the pattern calls for, so that it would fit me better. (There was also a teeny error in the version I had – the decrease row above the lace reads ‘k2tog, k10’ – it should be ‘k2tog, k9’.)

It’s snowing here again today but it’s much different from last week, it’s much warmer and the snow is not accumulating as much. We should make it out to swimming class with no trouble. Last night was mom’s night off (haven’t had one since last summer), I bought a bottle of cabernet and hauled the spinning wheel in front of the TV and rented the first Harry Potter movie. Probably not the evenest 2 hours of single I’ve ever spun, but perhaps the most relaxing 2 hours I’ve had in a long time. I hope I don’t have to wait another 6 months to have a chance to watch the second one!

6 Comments
  1. January 30, 2005 8:01 am

    Very well done. It’ll be so cute when you both wear your gray sweaters.

  2. Suzanne permalink
    January 30, 2005 4:30 pm

    Love your Mendocino. I will have to dig out that book and re-think that one. I have some Celtic Aran in the stash, too but not sure if it is the same stuff.

  3. sam permalink
    January 30, 2005 8:26 pm

    Won’t you two look adorable. Is there gonna be a mother/daughter fashion show in May? 🙂

  4. Jen permalink
    January 31, 2005 9:05 am

    Love the glass buttons you decided on! Will have to search for the EBay seller- I have a little button stash of my own 🙂 You two will be so cute for years to come with your matching sweaters! Beautiful! I love the hat too, and printed out the pattern. Will make with leftover SG from my Klaralund.

  5. January 31, 2005 10:22 am

    The hat looks great! Fun colors! And the sweaters are beautiful too!
    I own HP movies 1 & 2 (and will own three, eventually) so anytime you want to borrow, just give a hollar!

  6. February 10, 2005 6:04 pm

    I love the hat, it is so nice and cheerful! And the matching sweaters turned out very well.

Comments are closed.

