Skip to content

Recuperated

February 21, 2005
by

It’s been a long three weeks here at the Tea. We fell victim to the FT pneumonia and while that only temporarily slowed the knitting, it slowed everything else much more. Bet you didn’t know it was possible to spread germs from the Pacific Northwest to the Mid-Atlantic via the internet, did you?

Anyway – this means some catching up is required. In no particular order here’s what’s been doing.

New socks.

These are knitted out of a gorgeous sport-weight bluefaced leicester yarn from Paradise Fibers. I love them so much I went back and ordered 2 balls of each of the other available colors. There are only a total of three colors and I had to have them all. This one is called “Elliott.”

A new hat.

This uses a pattern I found a couple of years ago at Frugal Knitting Haus for a simple ribbed cap. The yarn is my first wheelspun yarn, natural bluefaced leicester in a sort of chunky weight. This is the most wonderful warm hat, and although the yarn is far from perfect it made a chewy fabric I love.

New stuff for Emmy.

A scarf from Plymouth Dreambaby DK and a hat from Wendy Velvet Touch. She loves the scarf and keeps it on all day at school, it’s so adorable.

She obliged with a side view so you could see the interesting spiral effect in the hat.

That Velvet Touch was the oddest yarn. A sort of chenille, I guess, a little width to it like a ribbon – all I could think of while knitting it was the torn bedsheet ropes that supposedly facilitate escapes from prison. But it’s made a very soft, lightweight hat, and the colors look much better than they did while I was knitting and I couldn’t see the spiralling.

New WIPs.

This is the beginning of a triangular shawl in that spindlespun recycled sari silk from Nepal that I swore I’d never get into. Someone at work had a shawl from it and the fabric had a wonderful weight to it that I found irresistible so I went and got some. This picture doesn’t do it much justice. It IS pretty hairy so I may take the sweater shaver to it when I’m done just to smooth it out. It sheds like mad while I’m knitting it, so I’m trying to just knit it at work where the shedding blends in with the oddly colored carpeting. I’m following the fundamental shaping of the ‘Wool Peddlers’ shawl from Folk Shawls (yo increases at each edge and either side of the center stitch), and I’m going to knit until it’s long enough and then stop.

A moebius out of Silk Garden:

This is hard yarn to photograph. I’m using a ‘mistake rib’ pattern that doesn’t really show in the picture. I started off with brioche stitch, which was making a nice fabric but eating yarn, and I only have 2 balls in this shade. It’ll be a nice little accessory to have and continues my trend of trying to knit up a bunch of small things.

BUT, I’m going to have to decide what big thing I want to do next, because SAGA ROSE IS FINISHED!!!

Bwahaha, you were just thinking this is another boring WIP entry, eh? Well, it went on the wooly board this morning. It was started on October 3, so it’s been in progress for some time, and it kept getting set aside to push to finish something else. But except for the week I had pneumonia and only knitted what could be done in bed, I’ve stuck with this for the last month and finally made it.
The pattern has some errors, which you can find on the errata page over on the sidebar. In addition, there were two other things that probably don’t count as errors but that I noted. One is that I went just over into an additional hank of Dark Navy. I ran out in the middle of the first button band. So, if I were talking to someone who wanted to make this, I’d say get an extra hank of that color. Also, the directions have you pick up for the sleeves with one shade of navy, then immediately switch to the other shade to begin working the sleeve. I didn’t see any reason to do that, so I picked up in the same shade of navy that I was going to begin knitting the sleeve with. This seems to be more a matter of opinion than an error.

This is the third time I’ve made a cardigan with a corrugated-rib button band, and I have to say I’m still not satisfied with any buttonhole method I’ve used. This one calls for yo K2tog, which to me made a buttonhole that’s much too small and is crossed by the other color yarn in an odd way. I’m not sure what size button I can shove through a yo done on size 2 needles. The others I’ve done called for binding off two stitches, then casting on two on the next row. These also are inconvenient because they are crossed by the carried color on the next row, so buttoning and unbuttoning can be a headache. What kind of buttonhole do you like in corrugated ribbing??
I also was thinking as I did my finishing today – my stuff would be laughed out of the TKGA masters programs, even level 1, because of my finishing. I am perfectly content with what I make but it would never pass muster.

I had no trouble picking up the right amount of stitches up the front for the bands, but I could see as I sewed the edges together to block that I was not consistent enough that the sides match perfectly. Either the ribs line up, or the main designs line up, but not both. Sigh. The more I knit the worse I get. Or the more I understand about how much I fudge. Or something. Anyway I will make it up with the button placement and forget it very quickly I’m sure.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have some dirty fleece in the washer…

8 Comments
  1. February 21, 2005 1:05 pm

    wow, saga rose sure turned out fine! i am glad to hear that you ordered the green yarn, while the purple is pretty, i would have ordered the green. glad you are also feeling better.

  2. Esther permalink
    February 21, 2005 3:44 pm

    I was wondering what happened! Trust you and your family are much better.
    Wow, your Saga Rose is stunning! I’ve been checking your site since it was started.
    Very good job!

  3. sweatergirl permalink
    February 22, 2005 4:42 am

    Wow. Some beautiful FOs this calendar year! See, my one measly scarf can’t really stand up…

  4. Angela permalink
    February 22, 2005 12:17 pm

    Caroline, that’s gorgeous – I can’t wait to see you in it.

  5. Katie permalink
    February 22, 2005 1:51 pm

    Wow, when you get better, you really get your energy back! Saga Rose looks fabulous, congratulations!

  6. vanessa permalink
    February 23, 2005 5:34 am

    saga rose is fabulous!!! and miss em is adorable in her rainbow hat 🙂

  7. Karen permalink
    February 24, 2005 3:44 pm

    So glad to see the finished Saga Rose!

  8. sam permalink
    February 25, 2005 10:43 am

    Caroline, what a great entry of fun and fabulous. Miss Em is gorgeous in her hat and scarf. I know what you mean about that yarn – it’s weird, but I love it! Saga is gorgeous, of course, and I’m so glad to see the project with your first wheelspun. Great work!

Comments are closed.

