Skip to content

Dulaan Done

March 12, 2005
by

I did my Dulaan duty and my hats are ready to mail.

The one on the left is made in Galway, a sort of bluish forest or greenish teal or something like that. I blew the dust off my Knitters Handy Book of Knitting Patterns and made the one with the turned-up ribbing. The one on the right is a plain roll-brim hat made in Celtic Aran loosely based on a pattern from knitting.about.com. Both were out of stash and took less than 100 grams. To get an idea of how big they are, I tried them on Emily and they fit acceptably but a bit loosely so they are probably something like 4-8 year old size.

I have to admit this is the first time I’ve ever done a charity knitting project. (Once, something I made for a gift ended up a charity donation, but that’s another story…) My reasons are a bit different from Sheila’s, it has nothing to do with the expectation of failure and guilt. It is because probably the rarest and most precious commodity in my life right now is time, and I’m almost pathologically protective of every minute I don’t spend working or tending to Emily. But, I really like Ryan (keeper of all information Dulaanish) and her Cuz, so I tried.

If you are at all inclined to charity knitting, drop over to Ryan’s, she has everything you need to fire up some hats, blankets, etc. and get them to Mongolia in time for next winter.

One Comment
  1. Sam permalink
    March 12, 2005 9:55 pm

    Cute as a button hats, Caroline! Would it be wrong of me to participate with the Sweater of Obligation hanging over my head? 😉

Comments are closed.

