Skip to content

Small packages

March 17, 2005
by

Knitting time here has been scarce; since our move in December, I have managed two finished objects, small though they be!

Number 1:

This is a scarf I knit as part of a Christmas present for my brother, who is a freshman at Penn State. It was apparently very well-received, and he’s asked for a “not-quite-matching” hat. See the “random” stripes? I am not one for randomness, so there really is a pattern: there are 5 big-stripe colors and 4 big-stripe thicknesses. So when I got up to 20 stripes, it would have repeated and become obvious. So I switched to a new stripe pattern. Can you guess which color I ran out of in this leftovers project?

The construction is a little bit interesting: the scarf is started as a double knit for a nice crisp edge, then knit in the round for the body of the scarf (using a jogless join technique), then bound off by a three-needle bind off for another crisp edge. I could have/perhaps should have used purl stitches to hide the jog and provide a natural fold point (I did this in my Harry Potter scarf, but thought it might have been superfluous)- perhaps next time.

Number 2:

Originally started for Little E, and finished in a frenzy this week as a gift for a dear friend’s just-born with a crop of red hair. May I present my version of Oat Couture’s Edwardian Carrying Cape?

I’ve also been working on the girly gansey from the just-finished Gansey Group/Workshop at ThreadBear. I’d like to have this be a 1st bday present for E, so I will hopefully finish by mid-April.

Also with a mid-April due date, a sweater for my sister’s little-one-to-be. Here’s a pic:

It’s from Interweave Knits Winter 2004 (Diamond-Seed Baby Jacket) and I’m making it from some hand-dyed (by me), hand-spun (by me) fingering-weight yarn that’s one ply of merino and one ply of silk. Most of the variegation is in the dye take-up in the silk. Anyhow, I am pretty happy with this endeavor.

My new and competing hobbies are tearing down wallpaper in the new house and chasing a crawling baby around. Since she has learned how to climb (onto boxes, low window ledges, etc.), she’s needed closer supervision!

Our new house is an older one – we haven’t quite pinned it down, but we think it is a Sears cube from the 19-teens? It’s had a series of additions and remodels, however, so there’s a lot going on – 40s wallpaper, 70s wallpaper, knotty pine and plywood panelling. Anyhow, nearly every wall (that is not knotty pine or plywood) has peeling and/or hideous wallpaper. I’ve started with the family room/kitchen, which had faded circa 1975 grasscloth wallpaper. The house is also quite drafty, so we’ve all had a good excuse to wear more handknits!

4 Comments
  1. March 17, 2005 5:24 pm

    Yay! Sweatergirl is back! I say that sufficient small packages add up to some number of big packages at the rate you are going. The little gansey is adorable.

  2. March 18, 2005 4:41 am

    Glad to see you’re still around. Great projects, I especially like the little cape

  3. Linda permalink
    March 19, 2005 11:12 pm

    Welcome back to blog land! Good to hear from you. You are fast approaching (there?) the worst year of motherhood with respect for any time for yourself. Whenever they are awake they need watching (rescuing) since they can move but have no judgement. Enforce the out-of-bounds and you will be happier sooner. Lots of love to you all-L

  4. Katie permalink
    March 21, 2005 11:05 am

    Nice to see you here again! Is it the blue you ran out of? Whatever – it isn’t obvious!

Comments are closed.

