Skip to content

In Other News, Pigs Fly

March 24, 2005
by

We have more content from the said-I-never-would department. As if it’s not enough that in the past 4 months I have taken up fleece processing, for heaven’s sake.

Not only have I shelled out for 10 balls of Silk Garden (swore I never would), I plan to design my own sweater out of it.

It’s shade 37 and the picture does not do justice to the bewitching shades of violet and lavender with shots of jade and emerald. I bought 2 balls on sale to make a hat and by the time I was half done I was glassy-eyed and wondering if I remembered how to use Sweater Wizard. Luckily I was able to find a good price on it and didn’t get into triple digits…

I envision a top-down raglan cardigan with a knitted-on lace border on sleeves and bottom edge, perhaps a lace collar, and a baby cable set off by garter stitch in lieu of a button band. I have to start right away before I lose my nerve…

Something else I swore I’d never do was work with that hairy bumpy lumpy sari silk yarn. You’ve seen the occasional WIP shot here lately, but this is the finished product.

I shaved it to death with my trimmer because it was so hairy (and the hairs seemed to be all yellow for some reason), which led to some of the more fragile sections of the yarn being accidentally severed, so this has a ton of hidden knots and mends. The nice thing is, you can’t see them, it’s such a wild surface already. It also shed like a Persian cat in August, so I spun it on air in the dryer a couple of times and although it still sheds it’s much much better. It’s surprisingly warm for something so fluid and drapey. I think I like it.

The colors were fun for someone who considers herself madly color-impaired. They just followed after one another with no rhyme, reason, or theoretical foundation. My favorite little passages were one where candy pink transitioned to daffodil yellow, and one where raspberry-wine transitioned to bright sky blue. That last one gave me another idea for a sweater… sheesh, where will this all lead??

Next thing you know I’ll be learning to weave!

3 Comments
  1. sam permalink
    March 24, 2005 10:18 pm

    Bewitching color, indeed! I can’t wait to see the sweater progress, Ms. Fiddletwist. And I like the way the colors line up in the silk shawl – lovely to behold. I’m sorry to hear about the shaving mishap – I have two sweaters that are a mass of knots on the inside. Live and learn, eh? 😉

  2. Roi permalink
    March 25, 2005 6:32 am

    Excited to see this sweater unfold and now I see why you persisted with the shedding sari silk – the shawl is really beautiful!

  3. March 25, 2005 9:52 am

    Gorgeous, Caroline! The colors are just marvelous, you really did a great job.

Comments are closed.

