Skip to content

You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby…

March 26, 2005
by

I decided today I’d better get washing on the last hunk of raw fleece I have, three pounds of Cormo I got from here. So, I opened the box, and this is what came out. Meet Peggy. Or, Peggy’s fleece, that is.

Isn’t she gorgeous? And so clean – this is the cleanest, least stinky fleece I’ve laid hands on yet.

That little crimp is so distinct, it looks like corduroy. Peggy must be one beautiful girl. A pound or two is soaking in the washer right now.

In other fleecy news, I keep combing away at the grey rambouillet, whenever I have a few minutes.

This is not as much as it looks like because I’m not squishing it into the box – maybe 6 ounces of top? There’s a bunch more combing ahead of me yet, but I’m really enjoying it. I know that a big reason a lot of people do this stuff is the thrill of knowing they are holding a garment they made right from the fleece. I like that idea, but I’m sort of immature I guess, unless I actually love the process, I won’t do it, and I’m doing all this now because I’ve found I love it for itself!

I’m actually getting a little back-door color blending experience, because this fleece seems to contain white plus two shades of grey and I’m trying to blend them together. I’m still getting a variation of color between the pieces of top, but my intention is that the yarn will not be striped if I mix them together, more a varied grey.

4 Comments
  1. March 26, 2005 3:33 pm

    What a gorgeous fleece!!

  2. sam permalink
    March 26, 2005 3:43 pm

    Lovely fleecies, Ma’am. The rambo is a lovely shade, and I think the blending will turn out well. The cormo is just to die for beautiful. Have fun!

  3. Katie permalink
    March 28, 2005 1:48 pm

    OK, that does it. I’m getting rid of that dirty icky Targhee I have been struggling with and getting something GORGEOUS like Peggy. Life is too short! I don’t *mind* the washing but the combing or carding is much more fun. So when it’s washing – and washing – and washing some more – not so fun.

  4. March 29, 2005 5:14 pm

    Oh, that is beautiful!

Comments are closed.

