Skip to content

Time Marches On

April 5, 2005
by

I took a picture of Wrixlan last week, but I had to take another one this weekend because it’s progressed so much.

Once you get past the cabled rows (64 altogether) it’s a quick knit at 5 stitches to the inch. In keeping with all the bad influences I hang out with over at Fibertraditions, I deviated from the pattern! Shock and horror! This never happens! I shaped the shoulders with short rows so I could do the 3 needle bindoff to join, and I’m knitting the sleeves from the top down. If I can’t do that on this pattern there’s no hope for me at all – the sleeves are bound off straight across the top with no sleeve cap shaping. I had to figure out if I’d be ok with the decreases every 4th row even going top-down – my math suggests I will, only time will tell!

I tried to post a picture of the cables so you could try to spot the mistakes, but it was too dim and dreary to get a sharp shot in such a heathered yarn. I’ll try again to give you the error challenge.
Meanwhile, when browsing for sari silk links to share with others, I came to the conclusion that I wanted to try my shawl again with yarn that’s more in keeping with my very conservative tastes in yarn. So, I’m going to be giving the shawl I already made to Sam’s daughter, and starting over.

This yarn is ‘Kathmandu Handpicked’ from here. It is extremely evenly spun and not hairy at all. It’s also much more in my colors than the other one was. I’m really enjoying this yarn. I’m expecting to get a nice size triangle with 500 grams. To give you an idea how different it is from the old one – I could only knit that one at work because it shed so much, but I’m knitting this one while sitting on my beige couch.

I finally got my third ball of Silk Garden and finished my moebius, just in time for spring:

I’ve never made one of these before so it was an interesting moment when I went to put it on for the first time – but it worked out great, tucks nicely into the front of my coat. I do wish it covered the back of my neck instead of the front, but you can’t have everything!

I tried photographing the beginning of my Silk Garden top-down cardigan but it didn’t come out well due to the rainy weekend we had, so that’ll be coming along later.

Meanwhile, check out the new blog arrival in the sidebar: LisaS of lisaknit has got herself into the blog world! Go see her cute puppy and her terrific spinning, dyeing, and knitting. Also, she’s darn funny.

9 Comments
  1. April 5, 2005 4:10 pm

    I love all of your projects! I am excited about that mobius because I have three skeins of Silk Garden that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do about. Great idea!
    I had to laugh about your shawl comments… Check out what I had to say a week or so ago about the one I’m making…

  2. vanessa permalink
    April 6, 2005 4:29 am

    you go girl πŸ™‚

  3. Jen permalink
    April 6, 2005 12:14 pm

    Wow! Wrixlan is drop dead gorgeous.

  4. April 6, 2005 2:07 pm

    I am loving these projects, Caroline. I think that the Wrixlan looks beautiful in this color and the cable work looks as though it is really really comforting to do, like a puzzle on a rainy day. I really like the look of the new sari yarn and think that its more behaved state will be more “you”. Sam’s daughter will be THE QUEEN OF ALL THINGS in the first one, which is nothing, if not lavish. Seeing the Noro dyeing is always so inspiring, but who has that huge of a dye studio…man, I would have to warp it outside and then dye it on a ladder to avoid the sturdy jumping bean, AKA Tank. Just beautiful. :o)
    Lisa S

  5. sam permalink
    April 7, 2005 9:36 am

    Hooboy – you’ve made some great progress on Wrixlan, Caroline! It looks fabulous, and I really like the way the moebius turned out. The new silk is a thing of beauty, too. You’re going to have the big show and tell in May!

  6. April 8, 2005 7:13 pm

    hey! I can comment again! I was afraid for a while that you were trying to tell me something πŸ™‚
    Fabulous, fabulous FABULOUS work, CF!!

  7. April 10, 2005 4:43 am

    It looks so good! I love the shoulders. How much neater is that?!? I need to get brave enought to try short row shoulders.

  8. April 10, 2005 5:48 pm

    I’m sure I need a “Wrixlan” for myself.
    Great stuff!!

  9. April 11, 2005 1:39 pm

    i love the wrixlian jacket and it is definitely on my to do list!

Comments are closed.

