Skip to content

And just in time for summer, we have…

April 19, 2005
by

The Wrixlan jacket is finished.

Too bad it’s going to be 80 degrees for the next couple of days…

I started this project on February 23rd and finished it two days ago. (Jamieson’s book 1 and Jamieson’s Soft Shetland in ‘amethyst’.) Once you’re past all those cable rows (4 repeats of a 16 row chart), it is quite an easy and fast knit. After finishing the cables, I was able to have it be my take-around knitting, so it got a lot of attention.

I altered the pattern in two ways. Instead of doing a series of bindoff rows for the shoulders, I shaped them with short rows and did a 3 needle bindoff at the top. Also, I picked up the sleeves from the armholes and knitted them down. When I finished, there was NO seaming to be done, just a bunch of ends to be hidden.

This was a perfect pattern for converting the sleeves, since it’s a modified drop shoulder and the sleeves would have been bound off straight across the top if they’d been knitted from the bottom. I find that I often have a little trouble with sleeves that are bound off like that, when I go to sew them into the armholes, as the bindoff is so inelastic. Picking them up and knitting down is the perfect solution.

The only thing I can see that could have been better is if I’d actually bound off the 16 stitches held for the underarm, and picked up over them, instead of putting them on a holder. It creates a funny little gusset effect that probably would not have existed if I’d bound them off. Oh well live and learn. You can see the little gussety-ness under the right arm here.

It actually came out fitting quite well and is the size it’s supposed to be. That wouldn’t be cause for any kind of amazement if it hadn’t turned out I used two full skeins less than the pattern called for. ??? I used the same needles the pattern called for, got my stitch gauge, and did not alter the length in any way, and I used 10 skeins instead of 12. I’ve never been able to get row gauge – if the pattern calls for 5 stitches and 7 rows per inch, I will find the needle that gets me 5 stitches but I’ll invariably get more like 6 or 6.5 rows per inch. In this case I was much closer – more like 6.75. I don’t know where that extra 240 yards of yarn was supposed to end up!!

With luck it will very speedily turn into some kind of felted bag to go with the sweater. I’d like to have a new tote in time for MS&W. This is probably unrealistic but I can try…

Bonus points if you can find the two cables that are twisted the wrong way in this photo of the back of the sweater, thus messing up the over/under sequence of the knotwork. Hint: they are not in the same ‘column’.

Think you got it? Click here  to see if you’re right!

17 Comments
  1. April 19, 2005 6:00 am

    Zen, Baby…pure Zen. All is right with the world when there is a little human imperfection, eh? It is mighty beautiful, dahlink and fits you so well. Perhaps it can go places with you, where people think that 65 degree air conditionting is a good thing…:o)

  2. Roi permalink
    April 19, 2005 6:16 am

    Perfect fit, perfect color, perfect cables – unless one is AR. The underarm “gusset” looks like it gives some great shaping. I like it just the way you knit it and wouldn’t change a thing!

  3. vanessa permalink
    April 19, 2005 6:21 am

    gawwguss!! it fits you like a dream 🙂

  4. April 19, 2005 6:40 am

    Oh, that looks beautiful! Great cables (despite those two errors which, really, who is ever going to notice?) Really lovely!

  5. April 19, 2005 8:35 am

    Beautiful, Caroline! Would you believe I’ve actually been stalking Pink Tea to see when the photo of the finished Wrixlan would be posted? It was absolutely worth the wait!
    Now, go find yourself a room that is over-airconditioned!

  6. Sam permalink
    April 19, 2005 9:14 am

    Ah, heck, you could go blind trying to find them. Remember the Humility of the Masters? You meant to do that – yeah, that’s the ticket! 😉 That is a very gorgeous sweater, Caroline. Nice work! 🙂

  7. April 19, 2005 9:15 am

    All I can say is….gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. I was waiting to see this finished too!:-)

  8. Angela permalink
    April 19, 2005 9:54 am

    Caroline? Can we trade sweater wardrobes every now and then? I warn you that I will get the better deal though 🙂 Stunning, snuggly, delicious colour, I’m in awe.

  9. Peggy permalink
    April 19, 2005 11:07 am

    Ah, it’s loverly. And beautiful on you too.

  10. Katie permalink
    April 19, 2005 11:26 am

    It turned out just great. Congratulations! Yes, I found them after a few minutes, but it’s not really that noticeable… “signatures”, not mistakes, as my first knitting teacher always said.

  11. April 19, 2005 3:21 pm

    Stunning! This is one of the projects I plan on getting to, one of these days.
    Can I ask what size you knit? Curious minds….

  12. April 19, 2005 4:46 pm

    Your sweater is beautiful!! I love the color, the pattern, all of it!

  13. April 20, 2005 3:37 am

    Is that perfect or what! Perfect fit, color and style for you! It is just beautiful!

  14. April 20, 2005 10:52 pm

    Completely random person, but wow awesome jacket/cardigan. Is it a pattern from somewhere? It’s very gorgeous!

  15. April 21, 2005 5:53 am

    Super fabuloso! (as Dora would say…) One of my favorite yarns, in one of my favorite colors… looks great on you, too. Love those celtic cables, and I love how the pattern uses them so they’re not overwhelming. Great job!

  16. April 21, 2005 11:15 am

    Yes Dora lives at my house too…
    Cassie, I knit the smaller of the two available sizes, which has a stated circumference of 40 inches.

  17. Jen permalink
    April 26, 2005 9:39 am

    Adding my oohs and ahhs. Better hide that sweater during MS&W or it may disappear! Seriously, what a beautiful sweater and a perfect fit.

Comments are closed.