Skip to content

$75 later we have a bag

May 2, 2005
by

With the leftovers from my Wrixlan jacket, I set out to make a Constant Companion bag. This is what it looks like at this point.

I say ‘at this point’ because it’s not sufficiently felted. The reason it isn’t sufficiently felted looks like this.

When the poor washer went to pump out the second rinse, it choked. Today someone cleaned it out and it’s good to go again. I guess this Jamiesons yarn gives off one ton of fluff when it isn’t knitted tightly enough.

Janet says I can felt the bag some more even though I’ve sewed on the pocket. I think I shall, as it’s too floppy now. (In the photo it’s stuffed with plastic bags.) She says putting it in a pillowcase will protect the washer without weakening the felting action. I’m currently knitting another pocket for the inside and when it’s done I’ll try another 2 times through the wash.

The murky little motif on the front pocket is the cable from Wrixlan, done in ‘intarsia’ – it would never have showed up as just a same-color cable, and I knew the felting would take care of my terrible intarsia technique. It doesn’t look as much like the jacket as I’d have liked but at least I will know what it’s supposed to be.

The base of the bag was knitted with a double strand of anonymous blue lightweight worsted that was left over from Cornwall and a sweater for Emily. It felted WONDERFULLY – no crud in the water and a very very firm fabric. I will make my next Constant Companion out of a double strand of something, I know it’ll make a really nice bag that way.

I realized while photographing the bag that I hadn’t ever posted my second sari silk shawl.

It’s much more to my liking in every way. I can’t wait to see a picture of Sam’s daughter wearing the original one.

Four days till folks start arriving for Maryland Sheep and Wool! Probably my next post will be after the hoopla is over and I can show you all the big fun we had (not to mention the new/used spinning wheel that will be coming to my house…). Stay tuned!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Roi permalink
    May 2, 2005 5:45 pm

    Hummm, guess I better do the same next time I felt a bag – I just threw it in with a coupla pair of jeans!
    The bag looks great, but the shawl is awesome and looks so soft – is it?

  2. May 3, 2005 4:18 am

    Caroline, that lovely bag is worth WWWWAAAAYYYY more than $75. I say you got a bargain.
    BEAUTIFUL !!
    Helen

  3. latifa permalink
    May 3, 2005 7:59 am

    Never used the Jamieson, but Cascade 220 single or double felts up very beautifully and comes in buckets of colors! Also, Brown Sheep worsted or bulky is nice. I use a lingerie bag when i felt to protect my machine. Great bag. latifa

  4. Angela permalink
    May 3, 2005 8:58 am

    I really like the way the cable detail turned out on the pocket. Modeling pics of the shawl!

  5. Sam permalink
    May 3, 2005 9:25 am

    O.k., you’ve inspired me to be more careful with my felting – pillow case all the time, babeee. I’m glad they were able to get it fixed quickly, though! Beautiful bag, Miz Prudence.

  6. May 3, 2005 10:36 am

    Looks great, Caroline! I think I did the pillowcase thing when I felted my round one. I was mainly concerned about the straps. The shawl looks great too!

  7. Katie permalink
    May 3, 2005 11:19 am

    That was a great idea for your Wrixlan leftovers..I’m sure you’ll get a lot of use from that bag. I really like that pattern and have been thinking of making it, but I don’t have a washer that felts (maybe that’s a good thing!). I can hardly wait to hear all your stories from MS&WF.

Leave a Reply

