Skip to content

Going underground (by sweatergirl not Prudence)

May 13, 2005
by

Another Finished Object?

Why, yes, I do believe the Sweaterbaby is wearing a new sweater while trying to open the porch door (caught you!).

Now I am going underground for a bit – well, to the basement to check out the yarn stash and plan a second-birthday sweater in a much bigger size.

In case you are knitting for babies, most of the things I have knit for her are not too small width-wise, but have armholes that are too shallow. Nothing less than 6″ deep fits now (age 13 months, but on the “bigger-boned” side). The gussets in this sweater are essential – thanks, Beth Brown-Reinsel, for a great pattern!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2005 9:46 pm

    Well now, is Sweater Baby too cute or what? I love the use of the slits at the side, which makes for more comfort, no matter what your age and well, this sweater is just great on her. That picture is priceless…caught in the act. Oh, the memories…we had to have a hook VERY high on the door otherwise The Son would be out and wandering at the crack of dawn while Mom and Dad slept…where do they get these ideas???

  2. May 13, 2005 9:47 pm

    That is adorable! Good work!
    I only WISH Emily had a tendency to go off on her own enterprises. She’s much more interested in waking mommy up…

  3. May 13, 2005 9:48 pm

    So cute! I’m currently knitting a child size 4 for a 2-year old. A little big is fashionable, right?

  4. May 13, 2005 9:49 pm

    Verrrry sweet. Is the BBR pattern in her book or one that she’s sold separately?
    Helen

  5. May 15, 2005 8:40 am

    Thanks, guys! Helen – it is from BBR’s book Knitting ganseys (Snakes and Ladders), and it is the middle size (age/size not given – finished 24″ around). I did a free workshop where I had planned to cover 1 chapter of this book per meeting – each chapter talks about different construction details and leads you through part of a sampler. I only made a few minor changes from the pattern. I did add the slits to this sweater – thought that was a nice touch from the sampler. I think this might have looked better with a deeper neck finish (originally a rollneck), but I am not sure I will change it at this point.
    I am really glad E is still in the crib – I am sure she would be up and at ’em way before I was ready for adventures! For now, she’s stuck playing with a few toys while I get up and shower and become a relatively sane human being…I have never been a morning person!

  6. May 15, 2005 9:16 pm

    Too cute! Love the “caught in the act” expression, and the sweater is great.
    You may find the new sweater fits for a longer time than you expect… my girl got to a certain stage of chubbiness and then just grew up, and up, and…. she is 5 now and still only 22 inches in the chest, but 46 inches tall!

  7. May 16, 2005 7:57 am

    I think Emmy hit that up-and-up stage at about 3 1/2, as everything I put on her out of last year’s spring-summer box fit fine in width but was too short.

  8. May 17, 2005 8:49 am

    This sweater does seem a bit short – I suppose next year if I REALLY wanted to I could cut the thing above the letters and knit more stockinette to graft in. But I might just be content to say, “That’s your sweater from your first birthday; yes, you really were that small!”

  9. May 19, 2005 3:48 pm

    I find myself knitting for several babies at once, and appreciate the advice… Do you know of any set measurements (like the “armholes should be X deep for Age Y” type thing)???
    Sweaterbaby is adorable and precocious!

  10. May 23, 2005 6:42 am

    Amie – there is a chart at:
    http://www.yarnstandards.com/childsize.html
    But it does not talk about armhole depth. Also note that these are “body measurements”, so you would need to add ease. For kids, I think ease is tricky. They might be growing more in one direction, or need more freedom of movement in another (active lifestyle and all that).
    There is another chart in Sweater Design in Plain English (Maggie Righetti), which includes more details (wrist circumference, armhole depth, and more).
    In any case, I have found that chest sizes are generally more than adequate for E. Places I might modify would be armhole depth AND the ability to lengthen sleeves/body easily. Top down may be the way to go for me…Definitely no more set-in sleeves (drop shoulder sleeves can be detached, lengthened at the top, and reattached, should I be so inclined/ambitious).

Leave a Reply

