Skip to content

Oh Mount Holyoke, We Pay Thee Devotion…

May 27, 2005
by

No knitting content here, sorry. Just pretty pictures. This is going to be a lightly captioned photo montage of the 25th reunion of the Mount Holyoke College Class of 1980.  Knit on…


Friday
Registration

Saturday
Alumnae Parade

The college president reviews the ‘troops’.

Senior class officers, followed by the class carrying their laurel chain.


Laurel Chain
The senior class winds the laurel chain around the supposed grave of the founder, Mary Lyon.


Alumnae Association Meeting

Class of 1930 presents its comments.

The president addresses the alums.


A picnic for about 700


Some of my favorite campus places

The library:

Sundial in the chapel garden.

My second home: Pratt music building, all growed up with a six million dollar renovation.

The sock before dinner, admiring Lower Lake.

After dinner, jazz favorites by Beth (who sang opera and oratorio back in our day) and her combo.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    May 27, 2005 2:08 pm

    You make me wish I’d been there, Caroline. What a beautiful campus! 🙂

  2. Tamara permalink
    May 28, 2005 6:54 pm

    I almost went to Mt. Holyoke but my father didn’t want me so far from home (Kentucky) so I went to Hollins in VA instead. Your pics remind me of all the wonderful times at school and how lucky we are that these fantastic women’s campuses are still going strong.

  3. Angela permalink
    May 30, 2005 5:04 pm

    Oh, you make me wish I’d gone there, it looks lovely.

  4. June 13, 2005 10:01 pm

    Great job, Caroline! After 25 years I realized I shudda been a music majuh! Whatta place, eh? It was great to see you. I have to confess, i did learn to knit at MHC, although I can’t say I do much of it now…..remember, I have an excuse…. I live in FL! Anyway, all the best to you and your golden jewel (Emily, right???) Luv, ajr

  5. Sharon permalink
    June 15, 2005 9:24 pm

    yay, MHC! I went there too! Thanks for posting the pictures . . . I haven’t been back since I graduated in 1988.

  6. July 8, 2005 12:07 pm

    Wow, look at all these MHC knitters! I work there. I found your site while googling for the chapel garden sundial, which is featured sporting handspun yarn on my blog today. I was trying to find the text of the poem carved into the base (I’m at my other job today). Anyway, howdy!

Leave a Reply

