Skip to content

The 3 ply pile

June 17, 2005
by

The cormo is plyed.

I think I have about 1400 yards here. The 5 hanks are not consistent as to plying tightness, so the experts tell me I should mix it up when knitting – work from more than one ball so it’ll all balance itself out.

I was pretty happy with this as I went along, but the last 40-yard hank lying across the top is the result of navajo plying the leftovers, and when I saw this one it made me disillusioned with the rest. Because I’ve heard that it’s easy to radically overply with the navajo technique, I paid close attention and plyed more loosely, and I ended up with the softest, most even yarn of the batch. Now, the rest of it looks much less attractive to me. Sigh.

I think I am going to make ‘Venus’ from Jaeger book 18 with this yarn – the pullover version. I have three Jaeger books for 4-ply weight yarn, and there were other designs that were maybe a little more interesting, but I think with the variable ply of this yarn I ought to stick to something very simple. I also really want a pullover, since I just finished a marathon lace cardigan in January, and I like the 3/4 sleeves.

But the yarn needs to hang around the house for awhile, so that any overplying may relax a little, so this can’t start just yet. Sam and I are probably going to have a handspun knitalong later in the summer, as she has a bunch of gorgeous 3 ply Dorset that she showed off here earlier this year.
The Noro cardigan is going to be done soon, and the second Conwy sock is almost half done. The silk from hell hasn’t been touched in months, I may end up having to throw that out the window and give up on it. Standing on principle is fine, but beyond a certain point, I have to remind myself that knitting is supposed to be FUN.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2005 4:35 pm

    Oh my. THAT is a lovely sight. Soothing to the soul. BEAUTIFUL work Caroline!!
    Helen

  2. Angela permalink
    June 20, 2005 2:14 pm

    Wonderful to behold and inspiring to boot. I’ll have to get going if I want to join you on this handspun knit-along 🙂

  3. June 22, 2005 8:26 am

    I can’t believe the big ol’ pile of cormo that you have, what a job! I was stunned by the cormo at the festival, and it certainly looks like you have done the breed justice. What a thing!

Leave a Reply

