Skip to content

Good news and bad news

July 5, 2005
by

The good news is, the Noro cardigan is finally done.

The bad news is, I had to finish it twice. Somehow when I took it off the needles and put it on, it came down almost to my knees and the sleeves hit my knuckles. How did I do that? Luckily it was knitted from the top down so I just had to undo the bottom edges and rip back and reknit. So now, the good news is, it isn’t too long.

The bad news is, it’s kind of wide and floppy, and because of the style of collar I chose, the neckline has no body at all and tends to slide down my shoulders. Sigh. I’m considering one button at the neck with a loop, or else I-cord ties like a big bed jacket. You can see in the in-use photo how much floppiness there is under the arms.

It’s not something I can blame on a bad pattern, I sort of made this up myself so I would have a sweater made out of Silk Garden. I hereby solemnly swear I will not try to ‘make it up’ again, especially when using expensive yarn.

Meanwhile, as an antidote to 6 months spinning a pound of white Cormo, I quickly spun up 4 ounces of bluefaced leicester.

I was shooting for sport weight but ended up experimenting with the long draw so I got a sort of inconsistent yarn that tends to worsted weight. I plyed from a center pull ball which turned out to be quite easy. The best thing about this yarn: It’s SOFT. Lofty. Not overspun or overplyed. Yippee. I intend to make a pair of socks out of it, I hope that I can do that with about 200 yards of worsted weight yarn.

So, what did I do after finishing this? Got out my pound of undyed merino. I intend to keep control of this fiber. Once I spin this I will have the confidence to tackle some of the silk/merino I have stashed. We’ll see if I can stand to spin another pound of white.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    July 5, 2005 6:03 pm

    Those colors are perfect for you, Caroline – wow! And did you dye the BFL yourself? I can’t remember – ack! Half-heimers strikes again!

  2. July 5, 2005 8:33 pm

    The BFL was from an eBay auction of some spinner’s estate stash – it was dyed for a shop someplace in upstate New York, I guess a sort of house brand. I wanted more than 4 oz but didn’t win both auctions.

  3. July 5, 2005 8:52 pm

    Caroline, it’s beautiful! With your arm out I can see the extra, but really, when your arm is down it looks just perfect. When you put a long sleeved shirt under it you might get a different fit/look, too. I like the idea of a big button at the collar, too.

  4. vanessa permalink
    July 6, 2005 11:32 am

    a button or ties would be nice 🙂 i forgot to tell you before i left that i found the knitpicks catalog with the dyeing on the cover. it just has a photo of the pyrex on the inside ( i think the same photo as the new catalog) no other instructions.

  5. Katie permalink
    July 6, 2005 2:02 pm

    I think a big button with a loop on the other side would work great and looks chic. It may not be exactly what you planned, but as a short jacket it really works well. And the colors are great!

  6. July 14, 2005 7:22 pm

    The colors are gorgeous and very flattering on you! Don’t give up on designing things as you go–think of it as lessons learned. Get a big ol’ button or clasp and make it a design detail.

  7. July 15, 2005 9:16 am

    The cardigan is absolutely beautiful! And what gorgous handspun yarn you did. As usual, your work is absolutely to die for!

  8. Helle From Denmark permalink
    July 18, 2005 5:31 pm

    Ohhh, The Noro Cardigan is VERY PRETTY!! And the colors…….YUMMY!!!:-))) Where is that pattern from???

Leave a Reply

