Skip to content

Sweating the small stuff

July 18, 2005
by

This weekend was one of those humid mid-Atlantic times when you can get soaked in sweat standing still in the middle of the floor. Even with my air conditioners running it was still pretty damp all around. We got a new refrigerator, and in between all the stressing over ice and coolers and what-the-hell-is-that-back-there, I managed to finish off some little things that have been hanging over me.

Emily’s socks, from Fortissima Cotton.

I have to hide them on her, or she’s going to want to wear them right away. She doesn’t entirely have good sense yet about the necessary relationship between weather and what you put on.

I also plyed up the grey rambouillet that I had been combing. This is the first yarn that I made on my Mazurka, and the first yarn I made starting from fleece straight off the sheep.

I did make two skeins of yarn previously from handcombed top, but that fleece was already washed – this was most definitely in the grease. It was maybe a pound of fleece to start with, extremely dirty and heavily greasy. After 3 scours it still felt a little dirty, and it could have appeared in the spinner’s dictionary under the entry for ‘combing waste.’ It seems unbelievable, but this is 5 ounces of yarn. I’d be unnerved by that figure (about a 70% loss in washing and combing) if it weren’t for the fact that I only paid $6 for the wool.

The photo above shows the hanks before I washed them out. After washing, they didn’t really change color any, but they bloomed even softer. I’m a big rambouillet fan now! I think I got about sport weight – it’s somewhere around 450-475 yards. I’m pondering the idea of gloves – it would make the most lovely warm soft gloves. What else could I do with that amount of sport-weight yarn??

Update, Later
Here’s what was in my mail today, a pound of bluefaced leicester dyed in Lisa’s ‘Elektra’ colorway. All together, now: “OOOOOOOOH” Wonder if I can take a day off from work to spin…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2005 5:36 pm

    I really like this yarn. Very pretty, and easy to imagine th squishy-ness.

  2. Sam permalink
    July 18, 2005 9:29 pm

    This has come out just beautifully! Rambo and Corrie were probably the first fibers that I really fell head over heels for, followed closely by Targhee and Cormo. The Rambo is just amazingly soft and springy – marvelous processing and spinning!

  3. July 18, 2005 9:30 pm

    oh MAN!! I just love those colors!
    The yarn you spun up is beautiful, too. Maybe matching mittens/gloves or socks for you and your daughter?

  4. Helle From Denmark permalink
    July 19, 2005 4:48 am

    Yummy….you just gotta love that stuff…..*DROOOOOL*

  5. Angela permalink
    July 19, 2005 11:40 am

    The spinning’s gorgeous, the fibre is stunning. I vote for taking a day off.

  6. July 19, 2005 2:21 pm

    Did you wash all the rambo in the washing machine? I want to do it all at once because the little bit at a time is killing me. It looks so wonderful! Your spinning is so even and lovely. The elektra is going to be amazing. I definetly want to see that when it’s done.

  7. vanessa permalink
    July 21, 2005 7:30 am

    the rambo is gorgeous!! your emily comment reminded me of rebecca when she was little. when she was 4 we went to conn. in july. i had a hard time convincing her she didn’t need to pack mittens. when the plane landed, she looked at me and said “you were right mom, no snow” šŸ™‚

  8. July 21, 2005 8:24 am

    I’m still reeling from the 70% loss. Do you think that’s about right? I’m just starting with combs and it seems to me like there’s a lot of loss…mind you, I’d be willing to suck it up if I meant that I would always get yarn like yours.
    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

