Skip to content

Spinning and So Forth

July 25, 2005
by

The weather was much improved this weekend, so the house could be open and the back porch used, and so forth. A fair amount of spinning happened.

This is some Shetland fleece I bought on eBay.

I realized after I cropped the picture that I should have put a ruler next to them, or something for size. They are about 6 inches long. This is really beautiful fiber – it isn’t going to turn into a ring shawl anytime soon, but it’s not extremely coarse. This was the cleaner stuff – I have about 2 pounds, and I swear that there is one pound of hay in the bag and 1 pound of fleece. But it does comb out, I just have to sit over a tarp.

I’m spinning it long draw, because the fibers are pretty long and, as you’d expect, the Shetland is really grabby. So it’s going fairly fast and making up in a lovely shade of silver grey.

Meantime, I finished my first four ounces of white merino.

This is not my most consistent yarn ever, but even Emily pronounced it soft:

It’s 4 ounces and maybe 225 meters. I’m well into the second four ounces, and I think it’s a little more tightly spun, so I’m trying to relax a little.

In knitting news, I swatched with my 3 ply cormo, on size 3.25mm needles, and got stitch gauge for my pattern but not row gauge, and a very firm fabric, so I decided to swatch again on 3.5mm. Now, my 3.5mm ebony needles were being held hostage by the silk-from-hell (last seen here). So – guess what – the silk from hell is in a plastic bag waiting to be dumped in a traveling stash box! I’m free! I had good intentions of putting it on a piece of yarn in case some lunatic actually wants to knit it, but I realized I haven’t got the slightest idea how to get about 500 stitches onto a piece of yarn. Yahoo! Out it goes!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. sam permalink
    July 25, 2005 1:27 pm

    Hey, Caroline, I have some silver grey shetland on my wheel, too! I must be in the air. The yarn all looks gorgeous, and Emmy can’t wait for a sweater out of that merino! 😉 Lovely work, Ma’am!

  2. July 25, 2005 2:38 pm

    Free! The shetland looks really pretty! Was it double coated? What pattern are you thinking about?

  3. Angela permalink
    July 25, 2005 2:41 pm

    Whee! I love silver-grey shetland. Beautiful!

  4. July 25, 2005 3:20 pm

    ooh ooh ooh, I just want to touch it all!
    My heart hasn’t started beating again after hearing that shawl is a pile of rumpled silk, but how free you must feel! Good for you!

  5. Jen permalink
    July 25, 2005 9:31 pm

    Just gorgeous, Caroline. Love the picture of Emily – I’m missing that cutie pie!

  6. July 25, 2005 9:46 pm

    Kerry, if you touched that silk, you’d think ‘venetian blind cord,’ which is the first thing I thought when I touched it…
    Elizabeth, I have no pattern in mind, I have to see what kind of yarn I get and how much! I’m not to the point yet where I can spin to a pattern! I’m usually at the mercy of the fleece.

  7. July 25, 2005 11:43 pm

    Aww, Miss Emily. What a great kid and what pretty spinning. You people and your perfect yarn…I tell ya, it makes me just want to go eat worms.

Leave a Reply

