Skip to content

Good Mail

August 8, 2005
by

Thank goodness for mail. It livens things up when they’re dull and makes up for too much heat and humidity. Well, sort of.

My Knitpicks package came Saturday.

There’s been a bunch of buzz about Perendale fleece from the folks who went to Salt Spring Island’s fiber festivities a few weeks ago, which reminded me how much I liked a small lot of Perendale yarn I have in my stash, so I went looking for some Perendale. A lock out of the package looked like this.

After a quick dip in a mug of hot soapy water it looked like this.

It has a very low luster and a nice wide crimp. It’s medium coarseness – probably finer than Romney but not silky like the longwools. I think it’ll make a nice worsted weight yarn to knit a jacket with. The sample lock is about 4 inches unstretched.

I hope it’s a quiet week at work, I need some time to sit still that I didn’t have over the weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2005 9:59 am

    That bottom stuff looks heavenly, whispy clouds on a summer day. Can’t wait to see what it spins up like.

  2. Sam permalink
    August 11, 2005 10:10 pm

    I love that red sock yarn – very cheerful. And the fleeces – well, you know how I feel about the fleeces. Huzzah for mail!

Leave a Reply

