Skip to content

Tangled Up in White

August 15, 2005
by

I finished spinning my pound of white merino.

Yeah, I know, I’ve done an awful lot of white spinning this year. And I like this fiber so much, I went and ordered another 8 ounces so I can maybe have enough for Eris after all.

Of course, watch me spin plenty of yarn and then not solve the Mystery of Gauge…

I have found that I can spin and ply 4 ounces of this in a weekend, taking advantage of the fact that in the morning after breakfast Emily tends to remain quite occupied with her own play for a couple of hours. If we don’t have to run off anyplace, we both play with our toys and by Sunday night I can have a skein of yarn.

When I first bought that pound of merino, I split it into one-ounce chunks, planning to use it as a sort of spinning training exercise. But it spun so nicely that I abandoned that idea and just spun it. I found it psychological very encouraging to chew through those one-ounce hunks and will do the same when the next 8 ounces shows up.

Meantime I’ve almost finished the upper back of Arches.

It’s a lovely effect achieved by deceptively simple means – long columns of a simple 1×2 twist, topped with the same horseshoe lace that serves as the border of the Wool Peddler’s shawl so many of us have knit. Two more repeats of the 8-row pattern and I can start on the upper front. I’m looking forward to getting to the sleeves, which are knit top-down and have short-row shaping at the shoulder.

Venus is also progressing, although much more slowly due to the gauge. I can tell this is going to turn into one of those slog projects… Here you see about 5 inches complete and maybe you can see the argyle pattern taking shape (this is very hard to photograph).

Bridget got a bath on Saturday and so considered herself clean enough to check out white knitting.
I had a detail photo of the texture also but can’t find it right now, I’ll post it later in the week if it turns up.

(UPDATE later – this is the detail photo…)

Finally, Emily.

I almost started singing, “How do you solve a problem like Maria…”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    August 15, 2005 11:03 am

    You’re spinning is just beautiful! Love Arches, too… did you find the pattern locally? I still haven’t had any luck locating it. And Emily always brings a smile to my face; she’s got such a great big smile.

  2. Katie permalink
    August 15, 2005 2:17 pm

    Beautiful spinning! and what a charming picture of Emily, too!

  3. August 16, 2005 12:11 pm

    Sister Bertrille without the wings! The merino is perfect and beautiful and why am I not surprised? One of these days we are going to have to force you to spin some color…come on, I know that you have some in that stash of yours, admit it. Spin it and make a hat…for Emily/AKA Maria.

  4. Sam permalink
    August 16, 2005 12:57 pm

    Caroline, the merino is just kooshilicious. You know how much you’re going to love cuddling up in whatever that becomes. Row gauge – AGGGHHH! is all I have to say, but we’ll perservere. 😉 Both Venus and Bridget are looking beautiful, in any event. And as to Mari…erm…Emmy, you can only laugh and enjoy the moments! 🙂

  5. August 19, 2005 3:53 pm

    your spinning is so even. i am amazed that you are able to spin so quickly, takes me forever to do 8 ounces.

  6. August 20, 2005 8:37 pm

    Oooh. There is hardly anything as satisfying as pure, white, soft wool THAT is a beautiful image. And little one is cute as a button. Tell Emily that Helen thinks she is beautiful.
    Helen

  7. June P permalink
    August 23, 2005 7:49 am

    Ohh, what a wonderful spinner you are! Lovely, lovely work or is it fun?! Anyway, love the Arches as well, and like Jen can’t locate the pattern anywhere – darn it! It’s beautiful too! June

Leave a Reply

