Skip to content

Distracted

August 26, 2005
by

Sorry for the lack of weekly entry on Monday this week – we’ve been a little distracted here. Here’s why.

These beautiful kids were on a poster at work that I saw every time I left my cubicle, 5 year old cats being given up due to an apartment issue. I finally couldn’t stand it and I ended up being the only person who even tentatively stepped forward. When the choice was me or the humane society I decided I just had to go ahead.

They’ve been in isolation here in the computer office since last Sunday because I’m terrified of upsetting Bridget’s elderly little applecart. They love it when I come in to use the computer, as they have company. I think tomorrow we will try taking another step toward getting them integrated into the household, because I think they are getting depressed in here. I’ve found a lot of info online about how to do this.

Bridget has taken all this quite calmly, mostly I think because she gets a treat whenever anyone comes out of this room. She does all her normal stuff and only occasionally seems to be monitoring the door, only approached it once that I know of to have a hiss. Tomorrow we may put the cats in their carriers, put the carriers in the hallway, and open this door, and let Bridget have a chance to check stuff out. It makes me nervous but it can’t go on like this forever either.

Naming is still an issue. In advance of them coming, I thought about names and tentatively decided on Betsy and Jerome (because of the Baltimore connection there), but the names just sort of bounced off them once they got here. I wasn’t interested in calling them Merlin and Nimue which were their names previously. After some days it seemed to me that the boy is a Toby, which left me with no obvious girl’s name to match. I thought of Sally. Emily likes Bonnie but I think that needs a Clyde… we’re sort of stymied on that for now.

They’re very sweet and friendly and love company. I hope this all works out. But scooping two litter boxes every day in two different rooms, plus putting out food and water and having visiting time, is cutting down on the time to do much blogging… All of last week’s WIPs are the same only bigger, so you aren’t missing much.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    August 26, 2005 9:10 pm

    What a wonderful and unselfish act! I’m sure your “older” cat will adjust and they’ll all live happily ever after.

  2. August 27, 2005 2:47 pm

    very beautiful cats. i am glad that yours is the home that they found!

  3. August 28, 2005 8:40 am

    Congratulations! What beauties!!

  4. June P permalink
    August 28, 2005 9:51 am

    What beautiful kitties! – Good for you, Caroline!
    June

  5. vanessa permalink
    August 28, 2005 1:24 pm

    they are so cute! i once had a dog named toby, the sweetest dog in the world 🙂

  6. August 28, 2005 5:22 pm

    Wow – Toby looks almost exactly like baby girl.

  7. August 29, 2005 7:56 pm

    Oh, I am so glad that they are doing well, Caroline. They will reward you and Emmy with years and years of love a purrs. It is just so wonderful that they get to remain siblings and companions. Well done. :o) They are gorgeous, by the way, so you are in a win-win sitcheeation.

  8. August 30, 2005 2:25 pm

    Catching up late, but they are gorgeous – especially the short-haired grey – my favourite.
    Fingers crossed that all is clam when you get in tonight.

Leave a Reply

