Skip to content

City of New Orleans

August 31, 2005
by

The Crescent City is under water. It makes me sad. I was there once and have always wanted to go back because my camera was fritzing and most of my wonderful pictures of the Garden District didn’t come out. (The picture above is from this wonderful slide show of somebody’s vacation photos of the area; there is also a slide show of the French Quarter.) I wonder how much of it will be left. I put a penny on the grave of Marie Laveau. Bet you can’t even see those cemeteries. It’s a fragile city.

Meanwhile here is what (not)my president was doing, Tuesday August 30th while Louisiana and Mississippi were starting life after the hurricane. I’m so glad he cares about his people. What an embarrassment. Do you suppose he called out the National Guard before he went off to pretend to play guitar someplace? Oh, wait, they’re in Iraq having their tours extended, and extended, and extended…

P.S., Dub, if you were trying to play a G chord – you’re one fret off…

UPDATE: Want to find an organization to donate to, in support of hurricane relief? Visit Network For Good, they have a large directory of organizations working in the area now.
UPDATE AGAIN: Try this and this on for size if you think I’m overreacting.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2005 11:45 am

    Thank you for the pictures. I’ve never been there but have always wanted to go. I fear I’ll never get to experience the true New Orleans.
    Bush is a joke. Maybe the southern states will turn blue when they find out what he’s been up to when they need him? yeah, right.

  2. August 31, 2005 12:57 pm

    It all makes me want to cry. This has been a very depressing week! My heart breaks for all of those people.

  3. August 31, 2005 10:47 pm

    One fret off — sort of says it all 🙂

  4. September 1, 2005 5:38 pm

    Thank you for pointing out yet again the tip of the iceberg with Du’uh bul ewe. I too have been to New Orleans and wished I could have been on the charter that left Chicago today with supplies and food bound for the victims. Hope you are well.

  5. Sam permalink
    September 3, 2005 5:05 pm

    Well, you know how I feel about himself, so ’nuff said. I’m just so sad for the people of New Orleans, and the city itself. What a tremendous, tragic loss. And I’m with you Pamela – one fret off sums it up nicely.

Leave a Reply

