Skip to content

FB Finally FO

September 19, 2005
by

After a couple of weeks of unproductive thrashing, finally something is finished.

This is the Flower Basket shawl by Evelyn Clark, from the fall 2004 issue of Interweave Knits, which is also available as a pattern from Fiber Trends.

I had one skein of Colinette Marinette and I used it up right down to the last 10 yards or so. The shawl blocked out to 66 inches across the top and about 34 inches tall at the point, while pinned out. Since this isn’t merino, it should stay pretty close to this size. The color is hard to see in a photograph – it’s a base of brown and navy blue, with shots of burgundy, turquoise, and silver grey. Nowhere near as monotone as the photo suggests.

Now I can say I understand why this pattern has been so popular. It looks nice and it’s EASY. You can knock out a shawl in a fairly short period of time, using whatever yarn you have around, and it still looks good. Part way through this one, I decided it would be a retirement present for a favorite college professor who’s retiring next year. So it’s folded up and put in the cedar chest. I’ll probably wear it once to give it some good vibes.

Vital statistics: Started 7/29, cast off 9/13, size 7 needles, a little over 400 yards of Colinette Marinette.
I will definitely make more of these, maybe my next one will be the Wild Things merino I’ve been spinning that you saw here a couple of weeks ago.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie/St. Louis permalink
    September 19, 2005 9:54 am

    I love it! I’d have a lot of trouble giving it away.

  2. Melanie permalink
    September 19, 2005 3:26 pm

    Wowza, just lovely! The Marinette certainly took the block beautifully. The lace has wonderful definition. Lucky professor.

  3. September 19, 2005 4:08 pm

    Looks really good! I love this pattern too.

  4. September 19, 2005 5:18 pm

    Caroline, the FBS is gorgeous! I can see the color definition – it looks really deep. I’m with Debbie, i would have a hard time giving this away. Beautiful work.

  5. September 19, 2005 8:50 pm

    It’s wonderfully dramatic in a darker colorway. Quite lovely!

  6. September 20, 2005 2:17 pm

    Well, that is such a pretty shawl and I love seeing it in different colors and yarns. Yours is especially wonderful, Miss Thang. You will just have to make one for yourself…lucky friend.

  7. September 21, 2005 4:10 pm

    beautifully done carolyn!

  8. September 23, 2005 10:46 am

    So very beautiful. That is one lucky prof. I’ll look for it around campus. 😉

Leave a Reply

