Skip to content

Green

October 3, 2005
by

But first, blue.

I should be able to get this done in a couple of weeks. The sleeve is easy. After that, I have to apply I-cord to the bottom edge, and I’m on my own as to how I choose to do that, that pattern doesn’t say. Then I have to make the neckband, which is actually somewhat complicated – you knit a long strip of the 3-stitch cable, with YOs at one side that you then drop somehow and turn into live stitches to knit onto the neckline. We’ll see how that one goes. I’m all ready to wear it.

I’m working on a toe-up sock, from yarn from the eBay seller ‘lotusblossom’ (Over the Rainbow). I need to get this done because Emmy has socks out of the same yarn that will not fit her after this year – we need to at least match once.

I’m using the pattern from here for a toe-up sock with a heel flap and gusset. I once tried a toe-up sock with a wrap-and-turn heel and hated how I had all these little holes I couldn’t close up. This is much nicer.

I finished a hank of my green bluefaced leicester this weekend. It’s yummy. Sorry for the big photo – I accidentally saved the wrong one while editing photos at home – but I’ll leave it because it’s so scrumptious!

It’s incredibly hard to photograph, too, I tinker and tinker with the color balances and it still doesn’t do it justice. I got just about 300 yards to this 4 ounce skein. I’m shooting for about 1200 yards, it looks like I might make it.

I sat down and started another one before this was even dry.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    October 3, 2005 11:19 am

    The colour is stunning, and beautifully spun. That little cut-away sweater is going to look so good on you.

  2. October 3, 2005 12:41 pm

    The green BFL looks lovely! Nice spinning, nice plying.

  3. Jen permalink
    October 3, 2005 1:00 pm

    Arches is looking wonderful! I’m watching and, hopefully, learning from your experience. It’s next up on my to-knit list.

  4. October 3, 2005 1:06 pm

    Wow that is arches? It looks gorgeous ms prudence! I love the bfl too. I bet it looks even more spectacular in person!

  5. October 3, 2005 3:13 pm

    Emerald City indeed! That looks gorgeous Caroline as does Arches.

  6. October 3, 2005 7:41 pm

    that green is yummy! and i love the blue pullover. Thanks for the link for the toe up socks, I have the same problems with the wrap and turn method of short row heels and I think I shall have to give this one a try!

  7. vanessa permalink
    October 4, 2005 11:36 am

    caroline, the emerald is lovely! the bfl really makes the color gleam. do you have a project in mind?

  8. October 4, 2005 8:26 pm

    ooh, purdy stuff. I *love* that yarn, too gorgeous!

  9. Sam permalink
    October 9, 2005 3:42 pm

    Wow! That is all I have to say. 😉 Thanks for the link for the socks, too. I have trouble getting short rowed heels to fit properly, so this will be wonderful to try. Arches is looking beautiful, and Emerald City is just, well, wow! So I guess I did have a *little* to say, after all.

Leave a Reply

