Skip to content

BFL? There’s no BFL here…

October 10, 2005
by

My second bobbin of BFL is spun. Here it is.

You can’t see it? That’s because it’s been hidden to protect innocent eyes from the horror. The reason it is sitting on a Priority Mail bag is that it is packed up to send to Sam The Disentangler of All Tangles. About 3/4ths of the single is wound nicely into a center pull ball. The other 1/4 is sitting on the bobbin, somehow snarled beyond all rescue (at least by me). So inside the bubble wrap is a ball of singles with a piece of cardboard stuffed through the center, connected to a bobbin. Sigh.

I couldn’t make myself start another batch right away so I finished combing the rest of my grey Shetland before lunch. This is my favorite holiday of the year, because SCHOOLS DON’T TAKE IT.

On a slightly happier fiber note, I finally washed the 26 ounces of Corriedale I bought in May at MS&W. It’s totally gorgeous, so silky I can hardly believe it’s what it says it is.

Emily’s Cats sweater (from Norsk Strikkedesign) is starting to look like something.

It turns out that the yarn (Norwegian Sport Wool I bought from Elann a couple of years ago) is exactly the same color as our new cat Toby.

There he consorts with the other critters on Emily’s bed. Here he displays an endearing attachment to the Oxford English Dictionary.

The feline territorial negotiations are proceeding well here. Despite frequent yowling and snarling and putting of the newcomers into their place, this also occurs more and more often:

Off to determine the best use of my remaining 2 1/2 hours of free time….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2005 7:28 am

    Oh what a day, childless for just long enough to have fun;-)
    Emmy’s sweater looks so good! She is going to love it.
    The fleece looks amazing!
    Sorry about the tangle-I am a giver upper in that department.
    It sounds like that cats are getting comfortable enough to sort out who’s boss!

  2. October 12, 2005 9:11 am

    Sam has that gene, does she? It must be a Cancer thing. Rod has it (Cancer rising)…he refuses to let me cut things when I get frustrated but when he is finally working with me full-time, he might get the cost benefit analysis of cutting your losses. I understand your concern with not cutting, though…trying to save every last morsel, are we? I get it, really I do.
    I love seeing the territories being established and think that while there will always be “your mother eats kitty litter” dirty words exchanged, the worst is over. At least you don’t have a huge fight referee that comes skidding into the room to break it up…well, now I have TWO. When they hear any of those yowlings coming from outside, there are lots of “break it up, you two” dog words hurled through the window, which raises my anxiety level to a new level. SIGH.
    Emily is going to LOVE the kitty sweater and will be SOOOOOO proud to wear what mommy made. Lucky girl to have her kitty to show off on her sweater.

  3. October 12, 2005 12:12 pm

    Love the kitty sweater! And the kitty pics, too. What is the girl cat’s name?

  4. Sam permalink
    October 16, 2005 3:47 pm

    Oh, Emmy’s sweater is fabulous! I hope I can talk her into modeling it for me in person. 🙂 And I’m thrilled to see the feline detante – yay! It’s going to be a happy, three cat home there, I can feel it coming! Oh, box will be on it’s way tomorrow – I’m sorry I couldn’t make it to the mail on Friday.

  5. Sam permalink
    October 16, 2005 3:48 pm

    Oh, and is that the corrie that we got that was in the paper bag? Man, that stuff’s gorgeous. I don’t think I’ll be able to resist this next year!

Leave a Reply

