Skip to content

Less than meets the eye

October 24, 2005
by

I usually post on Mondays, so last night I ran around like a nut and took a bunch of pictures and stuffed the camera in my purse so I could pull off the photos when I got to work and post them. Today for the first time I find out you’re not allowed to bring cameras into this agency’s buildings. Who knew? I’ve done it before, but this time someone was paying attention to what showed on the xray machine. So, we don’t know why, but my nice photos of my spun yarn are sitting in the car.

Maybe I’ll be profligate and post twice this week.

Meantime, you get to see week-old pictures. At the end of the day last Monday I finished Arches.

This was one heck of an interesting knit, as you can tell if you’ve followed any of the entries on the knitting of the sleeves or the construction of the neckband. It has lovely details.

It also fits very nicely.

I found one pattern error, which I’ve added to our errata page in the sidebar. Also, I shortened the sleeve one inch. I have LONG arms, so I would think that almost anyone would find the given measurement too long. Shortening the sleeve is easy, as you just knit plain all the way down from the end of the underarm gusset – the shaping is done entirely by decrease rows above the cuff.
Also you might want to raise the level where the lace pattern starts, to be a little further above the underarm level. I’m going to have to experiment with appropriate colors to wear underneath it – right now I’m thinking black is the best of the options I have on hand, as it will not stand out. The whole point of a cozy cotton sweater is to be comfortable, so I really want to avoid an additional layer.

I did really have other pictures to show you, but they will have to wait. Meantime, I can recycle some past pictures in a new way. I finished spindling the green Wensleydale so I now have maybe 100 yards of it. I figure if I combine it with the spindled Cotwsold (about 120 yards) that was my first combing project, I could make a really pretty hat – green brim and white top. What do you think?

(combedcotsXhanks when found)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    October 24, 2005 12:11 pm

    Wow, Caroline, that fits you perfectly – what a beautiful job! This is when I really don’t want to be working on my “have to” projects. I’d love to cast on for that. Thank you for all the great construction detail!

  2. October 24, 2005 12:43 pm

    Well, it looks nice, flat on a surface but ON, it is gorgeous. Yeah, I can seem the Sam-a-lamma in it too…nice narrow ladies. Great job, Caroline. The yarn looks really beautiful as well!
    That was some gathering you had there…Liz’s wheel is beautiful and BIG! Now that I have two big dogs, my wheel sizes are going to the opposite sides of the equation, all the way down to a non-wheel, which, I know…is cheating. :o)

  3. October 24, 2005 2:09 pm

    Arches is absolutely lovely, and so is your yarn. I just love the way hand-combed fiber seems to GLOW. Amazing.

  4. October 24, 2005 2:58 pm

    arches turned out well. and i think a green and white hat sounds like a very good plan.

  5. October 24, 2005 3:17 pm

    Absolutely perfect fit Pru!Way to go!!!

  6. Melanie permalink
    October 24, 2005 3:24 pm

    Beautiful fit and beautifully knit! I love it.

  7. October 24, 2005 8:26 pm

    Arches looks smashing on you, perfect length on the body.

  8. June P permalink
    October 25, 2005 8:06 am

    Great Job Caroline! It looks great on you!

  9. October 25, 2005 12:12 pm

    Beautiful, Caroline! Thank you for sharing the photos with us!
    (Er, what’re you going to do about the camera issue from this point on?)

  10. October 26, 2005 8:27 am

    You did a beautiful job and what a lovely sweater! I like your blog very much.
    It’s fun to do these beautiful stitch patterns. The arches would also be pretty for a scarf (arches at each end). i love the cuff details and it fits well.
    Congrats!
    Marcia at Knittingbag.com

  11. vanessa permalink
    October 29, 2005 6:58 pm

    caroline, arches looks lovely on you! i esp. like the sleeve and cuff, very feminine.

Leave a Reply

