Skip to content

A bunch of stuff

November 21, 2005
by

Yesterday was photography day, so if there’s something you’ve been waiting to see, it’s probably here today.

I brought the dyed/combed rambouillet fiber upstairs into the light, and spindled a sample too. This is a very crimpy fiber, so I probably should have used a heavier spindle. I did it quickly and casually, but it still should not have changed length and width as dramatically as it did. Wound on my niddynoddy it looked about DK weight. Removed from the niddy, it shrank about 4 inches in skein circumference and poofed out to an airy aran weight.

While the earlier photos were a little dark, this one is a little light, but it gives a good idea of the sort of plummy color I got. I think it’ll come out nice, and I won’t take the time to dye more of the contrast colors unless I run out. I wonder if spinning it finer, on the wheel, will counteract its poofing tendencies a bit.

I finished a bobbin of my cashmere/merino, but since it’s very fine and a little sticky I decided to let it marinate overnight before winding it off to ply. I can’t wait to see what it looks like as yarn.

I also finished one of the New England Mardi Gras socks. Emily found it totally hilarious that I was sitting on the couch sticking my foot in the air and taking a picture of it.

The sunlight washes out the color a little, last week’s photo is more color-true. It turned out great. And my mind is at ease about the yardage. The sock weighs about 37 grams so I didn’t use half the yarn.

I’m past the armholes on the back of my Cutaway cardigan. This Emerald bluefaced leicester is so hard to photograph. I tinkered and tinkered and it still looks too blue. Imagine these photos with the dark green more predominant.

A week ago I ripped back to the top of the ribbing and switched from my Inox Express needle to the Bryspun that I’d used to make my gauge swatch. The difference in tension is amazing. I adore the Inox Express needles but I think in this case the slipperiness was causing my gauge to become too large. I’m now getting the gauge I need for the pattern, and also making a lovely fabric, firm but also lightweight and drapey. Yummy!

I’m a couple of inches up the second sleeve for Emmy’s Cat sweater. The body and one sleeve are finished.

Because of the very puckery nature of this yarn, I think I’m going to block the pieces before I sew and cut for the armholes. I want to be sure I know the true width of the sleeves before I decide how deep to cut. There’s nothing worse than a sweater that pinches you under the arms.
Someone is hoping this will be done soon.

Here’s a picture of what was going on at our house on Friday evening. I had absolutely nothing to do with this, she went and got her big bear and set him up at the piano, announced, “We’re setting up now, thank you,” pulled up her chair, and pretended to tune. This may be the only time I get to see my child play the violin…

We went to a little house concert Saturday and so now I can’t stop singing, “He goes wa-wa-wa-waltzing, Waltzing with bears, Raggy bears, shaggy bears, baggy bears too…” Have yourself a little waltz this week, and happy thanksgiving if you celebrate it.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2005 11:46 am

    Beautiful! I love how your green sweater is coming out, and Emmy’s cat sweater will be adorable. I bet the Cormo is even prettier in real life…

  2. November 21, 2005 2:20 pm

    O Pru your little honey looks so cute at her concert. The Emerald city biffle is going to be amazing. I can’t even imagine how it would look in person! All glowy I imagine!

  3. Melanie permalink
    November 21, 2005 3:31 pm

    Wow, so many great things to look at! Miss Emmy is as adorable as ever, and she looks so happy with her kitty sweater. The Emerald is amazing, beautifully spun and it looks so nice knit up. Love the sock.

  4. Sam permalink
    November 22, 2005 1:53 am

    I had the same poofy thing happen with my salvage CVM, Miz F. It wasn’t what I expected, but I love squeezing the skeins. 😉 Be sure to post what the merino/cashmere looks like as yarn! Emerald City is a stunner, and Emmy sure looks proud of her sweater.

  5. November 22, 2005 11:25 am

    Hi Prudence,
    Is it OK if I use one of your gorgeous green sweater photos in a ‘blog post of my own? The yarn is just magnificent. (Of couse, I will provide credit and a link to your post.)

  6. November 22, 2005 11:29 am

    Lovin’ your blog! That cat sweater is adorable & oh, the colors & wool. Where did you find the pattern for the cat sweater? Such adorable motifs. I’m cat crazy, like the rest of my family ;-).

  7. Jan Clark permalink
    November 22, 2005 1:44 pm

    The Rambo is gorgeous, and in your hands, it’s doing its thing beautifully. Airy-bouncy is its genius. Revel in it!!!!

  8. November 22, 2005 3:59 pm

    You have been productive – Cutaway is going to be stunning on you.

  9. November 22, 2005 9:25 pm

    The Emerald City is absolutely gorgeous. And now I have a whole new place to drool over and seek out roving…thank you!
    (I think. *I* thank you, anyway. My VISA, however, is groaning and so is my husband. You see, there are waaaaay more than three bags full already here…)

  10. November 22, 2005 10:11 pm

    Where do I even begin?? Sensory overload!! Emily’s adorable and everything else is beautiful!

  11. November 23, 2005 6:45 am

    all the photos are lovely, but the emerald biffle sweater is breathtaking! miss em is too cute, and boy is she growing up 🙂

  12. November 23, 2005 2:08 pm

    Emmy is such a lucky girl to have a Momma who knits such beautiful stuff for her! That cat sweater will be great, and she will be able to wear it for years (good planning, Mamma!) I really enjoyed all the photos in your post. Great, inspiring work!

Leave a Reply

