Skip to content

Memo re: child socks

November 28, 2005
by

My first hank of cashmere/merino is finished and plyed. I’m delighted with it.

First off, this is how it came off the bobbin. I’m getting better at creating something both balanced and sufficiently plyed!

The skein weighs 2.7 or 2.8 ounces. When washed, it poofed, as one might expect, and it has a great deal of elasticity. It measured 420 meters on the niddynoddy but my past experience with the poof factor tells me that I probably have about 420 yards here. I think I have something I could knit lace with!! Given the poof factor, I think its weight is a very light fingering or a generous lace. It is VERY soft and lofty too.

I didn’t get to do much spinning this weekend, with all the running around we did. My task now will be to spin the remaining 5 ounces to the same grist so that I will actually have 1000 yards or so of this. I may overdye it a medium shade of rose – while it’s a very appealing maple-walnut color, I’m not sure I want to wear, it although I haven’t entirely made up my mind.

Inspiration struck last week when I was faced with the fact that Emily’s feet are more than an inch longer than they were last year and have outgrown all the handknit socks I thought would fit her this year. These things are knitted top-down, so why couldn’t I pull out the toes and make them longer?? At this age, her growing is all lengthwise and not much widthwise, so it’s an ideal time to try this approach.

First I turned to the skyblue-pink socks that match the pair I just finished for myself. Now, this is not superwash yarn, so my hare-brained scheme became more complex when I saw how Emmy’s sweaty little feet had FELTED the soles and toes (making them even shorter than they started out to be). My best bet ended up being running a needle into the row after the completion of the gusset, then cutting off the original toes and knitting a new foot. It turned out to be a pretty good idea after all, despite the trial-and-error of actually getting the stitches in a single row instead of stitches from the adjacent rows. And that little felted heel will be extremely durable, too.

You can see quite clearly where the new knitting is in the photo, because the colors get more defined and you can see the stitches. This pair is now redone and I have finished putting a longer toe on half of another pair (this one is superwash yarn so does not present the challenge of locating teeny stitches in a slightly felted fabric). How great is this? Emily will have three pairs of handknit socks in her drawer this winter instead of just one.

Memo to self: when knitting socks for small feet, use superwash yarn and never go toe-up!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    November 28, 2005 10:55 am

    The cashmere/merino looks very lush and beautifully spun. I’m glad the sock rescue project was a success.

  2. Sam permalink
    November 28, 2005 12:21 pm

    The yarn looks *beautiful*!!! You’ve done such a lovely job with that – I think the rose pink would just be gorgeous. Are you thinking Cushings, or something else? I know how happy Emmy’s feet are going to be, because I know how she treasures her hand knit socks. Good job, Mom!

  3. November 28, 2005 3:19 pm

    Wow and double wow Pru!! The cashmere/merino looks perfect!!! That is going to be some project.
    I can’t beleive the nerve of you ladies! Ripping things you have no right to be able to rip and fix! When kids grow you have to make new socks! Maybe someday I’ll be as brave as you ladies.
    I can’t believe the ingenuity!

  4. November 28, 2005 8:00 pm

    that yarn is simply luscious! and emmy will have nice toasty toes this winter 🙂

  5. November 29, 2005 6:39 pm

    Hmmm, the cash – merino is so yummy! You could just wear it around your neck as is – make a fashion statement! Lucky Emmy to have such a talented Momma to fix her toes!

  6. December 1, 2005 8:44 am

    Whoa. That cashmere merino yarn and the skein on my blog are relatives! Gorgeous stuff you do, lady… and the sock lengthening is genius. See, you need to have a kid’s foot around to know it just got longer–I’m about to be an auntie for the first time and for me, without any convenient kids to experiment on, it is all guesswork… 🙂 Joanne

  7. December 1, 2005 11:46 am

    Hey Pru, the amount of yardage you got in the beautifull spun merino/cashmere is amazing. I tip my hat to your beautiful spinning!

  8. December 9, 2005 11:09 am

    The cashmere blend looks heavenly! I can almost sense the softness. Overdyeing with rose will produce a wonderful, rich color.

Leave a Reply

