Skip to content

Falling in Glove Again

December 12, 2005
by

They may just look like slightly neppy old gloves, but they are the first thing I’ve made that started as a sack of fleece (it’s here, and here, and here).

I’m inordinately excited about them. They fit perfectly and they weigh nothing (I used maybe 1.7 ounces of yarn for the two). The glove pattern in the Ann Budd ‘handy patterns’ book is great, easy to follow and shaped just right. I had PLENTY of yarn, too, so I cast on for a brioche stitch scarf with what’s left. If it ends up really short I can pin it like Rosemary does.

I kept on with Cutaway. The back was finished last Monday.

I’m working on the left front. It’s early to assess the yarn availability but I think I’m going to make it.

I finally gave in and started Joanne’s Empirical Division pattern in the KnitPicks ‘Elegance’ alpaca/silk yarn. I just couldn’t keep my hands off this yarn any longer and I wanted something rich and cuddly to knit. The yarn is firm and wonderful, not just puffs of air with a little fiber in between.

The color is a little off in this photo, the pink does NOT have an orange cast to it although it is definitely a warm pink. This is going to be a relaxing knit.

Here are more pictures of the ‘Cats’ sweater because I finished the edge decoration and I blocked it. The front:

The back:

Emily loves it so much that she’s sleeping with it on the pillow next to her at night. However, we have a dilemma. Because this sweater is so long on her that it comes down past her rear end, here is the lower back of the sweater after the first day of wear:

The disadvantage of a nice soft yarn is that it’s soft… I can’t just make her not wear it until she’s 6 inches taller. We’re still pondering the issue.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2005 6:30 am

    Those handspun gloves are just perfect!!!
    The cutaway jacket is just such a beautiful color!!
    You can’t blame Emily for sleeping with her kitty sweater, it is just so pretty.

  2. December 13, 2005 10:01 am

    Wow! Everything looks fantastic–you’re being so productive….I’m envious! When I was a kid, I slept with my special toys, but they were tonka trucks. I’m impressed that Emily has the good sense to choose a sweater. Perhaps you could do an inner hem, a la Elizabeth Zimmerman. It isn’t a perfect solution, but you could fold over the fabric at the bottom of a cat head row and then just do one hem seam with a different colored yarn on the inside of the sweater. It will be easy to pull out when Emmy grows and you’ll just need to wash and reblock the sweater to regain the hemmed material.
    I found Elegance to be simply mesmerizing to knit with, especially in the long stockinette sections. I used a slippy metal circular and it went very fast and felt very soothing. I’m excited to see how it comes out! 🙂

  3. Sam permalink
    December 13, 2005 12:31 pm

    The gloves came out wonderfully, Caroline! And if I were Emmy, I’d sleep with that sweater, too. I would just take a disposable razor and give it a little shave – it’s working reasonably well on my Galway sweater, which is showing more wear than that yarn usually does. Looking forward to seeing Cutaway completed!

  4. December 16, 2005 7:50 pm

    Oh my goodness!! Your knitting is beautiful! The gloves and the kitty sweater are just gorgeous! I love your blog.

  5. December 18, 2005 7:58 pm

    I absolutely love that pink cats sweater! I have got to make one for me. I love cats! Mind if I borrow your idea?

Leave a Reply

