Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 1, 2006

A very happy new year to one and all! Yesterday I finished knitting a shawl. Isn’t that a great way to end the old year? It just looks like a scrunched up pile of crumpled knitting now, but I’ll post a picture when it has been blocked.

This is the alpaca silk blend that was on the Little Gem when I last posted in November – time flies! I love the way the silk shines through the soft matte of the alpaca. It’s so soft and drapey.

And from start to finish, this is superfine merino in the colour Petroglyph, hand dyed by Lisa Souza. Lisa’s fibre is so well prepared that it’s a dream to spin.

The photos just don’t do the colours justice. I love the loft in this yarn. It feels as light as air. There are 417 yds. in this 4 oz. skein, and it’s going to become a scarf.

Some folks don’t appreciate hand knit gifts. My son’s fiancee is not one of them. Is this a happy face or what? The scarf is knit with Madil Kid Seta (kid mohair/silk) from the Fiber Trends Estonian Garden Wrap & Scarf pattern. It was a hit, and that made my day.

Here’s the scarf border. This is the first time I’ve knit nupps and I like the way they look in this pattern. I had to be extra careful to catch all the loops when knitting all the yarn-overs together.

And finally, here is the long-in-the-making Cables and Lace Cardigan. The yarn is Elann Den-M-Nit unmercerized cotton. Since my swatch shrank more than the pattern suggested it would, I knit a size larger than usual and pulled it out of the dryer wile it was still damp. The next time I wash it, I will dry it completely because it’s a tad big on me. I passed on the crochet border and did garter stitch front and neck bands all in one piece, and added a clasp closure. The sleeves were knit from the top down instead of cuff up. Sice the body is knit in one piece to the armholes and the shoulders use a three needle bind off, there was no sewing up to do. The sweater is very comfortable and I think it will be one that will get plenty of use.

Best wishes to all of you for a happy and healthy year!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2006 8:04 am

    You can tell by the way she is holding it that she understands the preciousness of the handknit gift. What a keeper!

  2. January 2, 2006 9:14 am

    Wow your spinning is so even! I love how the sweater came out, it looks nicer than the Elann photo suggested.

  3. January 2, 2006 12:13 pm

    Wow! I love the yarn, the spinning, the scarf, the sweater! Are there two scarves? The pictures have two different patterns. Both are gorgeous. What pattern are you going to use for the petroglyph scarf?

  4. January 2, 2006 1:01 pm

    Wow, your handspun is awesome! The knitting is good, too, of course, but that future daughter-in-law, she’s really a keeper! šŸ™‚

  5. Sam permalink
    January 2, 2006 5:47 pm

    Oh, Mel – this stuff is just beautiful. I love the alpaca silk yarn! And what a treasure of a future DIL – someone who obviously appreciates the effort you put into that gorgeous scarf. And now, of course, you know I’m going to have to have the Petroglyph. Souza must be in the air – I’m working Bird of Paradise merino as we write. šŸ™‚

  6. January 2, 2006 6:00 pm

    Wow, Melanie…WOW. Your spinning is amazing and your son’s fiancee is so lucky! Talk about an heirloom…that is just fabulous. Thank you for making me look good. :o)

  7. January 2, 2006 6:27 pm

    melanie, you have outdone even yourself! everything is unbelievable!!! i hope you enjoy your future ddil and much as i do mine šŸ™‚

  8. January 2, 2006 6:31 pm

    Mel, I am in absolute awe of you! What beautiful works of art. You are truly inspiring! The happiest of new years to you and yours! šŸ™‚

  9. January 3, 2006 10:44 am

    Your handspun is gorgeous — and consistent. I always enjoy watching Lisa’s creations go from fibre to yarn.
    Your son’s fiancee won’t be having any complaints about her mother-in-law. How was knitting the scarf? Was the pattern fairly easy to memorize?
    Love the sweater too. Looks like the best kind – a lovely workhorse.
    Happy New Year!

  10. January 3, 2006 6:13 pm

    What beautiful work Melanie, everything’s gorgeous, including the DS’s fiancee! Congratulations again my dear!

  11. June permalink
    January 4, 2006 8:14 am

    Oh, Mel! I am so behind in posting but your work is fabulous! Love, love, love the spinning!

  12. January 17, 2006 4:52 pm

    What a beautiful scarf…and your sweater is fabulous too! I was googling Den-m-nit and found your site…what a treat!

Leave a Reply

