Skip to content

What I can do when I don’t have to go to work

January 3, 2006
by

Now that I’ve had a full week off, for the first time since last winter, I can conclusively prove that if it were not for having to schlep to work every day, I could accomplish a lot.

Exhibit A: a complete pair of socks, knitted in a week.

OK, granted, this is Mountain Colors Bearfoot so it’s knitted on size 2s instead of size 0s. But still, it’s a new pair of socks in a week.

These are the ‘Friday Harbor’ socks from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush. I am having a Nancy Bush fest, I think I’m going to knit socks out of her books on an ongoing basis until I run out of steam. Her patterns are so beautiful.

As for the Bearfoot, I love this yarn so much that I was sorry to finish the socks. (Now, I also probably knitted a total of 3 socks, with all the ripping back because I was trying to knit, read, and chat at the same time… so the fact that I was STILL sorry to finish really says something about the yarn.) It’s gorgeous and I see more of it in my future. The photo doesn’t really capture the deep jewel tones of this shade, which was called ‘Garnet’. Yep, call anything ‘garnet’ and I’ll glaze over and buy it.

Exhibits B and C didn’t get photographed, but they would be the body of Empirical Division, up to the armholes, and both fronts of Cutaway. I now have 4 sleeves to knit, as a reward for my dedication to those projects. One sleeve of each is about 1/3 done.

I finally got to ply the second hank of cashmere/merino. The new hank is in front.

It’s about 375 yards, and the first one is about 425, so I have about 800 yards of yarn here already. I have about another 2 1/2 ounces left to spin. I’m changing my mind about dyeing it now, and thinking that I will knit Moscow Nights with it in its natural maple-walnut shade. I’m pretty thrilled that I’m spinning such a fine yarn.

We went to visit Liz for awhile on New Year’s Day (does two years in a row make a tradition?) and I used the opportunity to finally finish that Shetland that’s been hanging over my head. It spins very fast if I just take the time to deal with it. Two hanks, about 2 ounces and 120 yards each.

This is, to be perfectly honest, not a very nice yarn. It was an ok fleece but so full of hay that I could barely stand to comb it, let alone separate the two coats. It’s a bit coarse and not that attractive. I think it would make great felted mittens for shoveling snow. I think my total yardage on it is about 500. I am now cured of my desire to deal with Shetland fleece. I will let other people do Shetland for me, should I have a desire to spin Shetland.

I have spent zero time combing the color-blended top froom my dyed rambouillet but I have this to spin now that I’ve freed up the upstairs wheel.

I think I am probably the world’s worst carder. It just doesn’t come naturally like combing did. But that doesn’t stop me, and I have about 2/3 of my little bag of Targhee carded and ready to spin. I have never spun from rolags before, so this will be interesting. Or maybe not. A friend of Emily’s was over on Friday and when she spotted these, she grabbed a fistful and held them next to her chin and started singing “Santa Claus is Coming to Town.”

When we were at Liz’s on Sunday she gave me a sweater she once designed for a yarn vendor, which she says will never fit her again. I did some mending on it (hope it was cat claw damage, not moth eating…) and gave it a nice wash. It’s a wonderful huge floppy tunic (it was a tunic on her and she’s a good 6 inches taller than I am) with an interesting cable design on it, and it’s very difficult to photograph because it’s a subtle grey with light green running through it. I will get it in bright light one day soon. This is a shot of the bottom edge.

She started the cabled design at different levels at the bottom of the sweater in a really interesting way. I can’t wait to wrap up in it on a sleety evening. Thanks, Liz!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    January 3, 2006 10:59 am

    Your cashmere/merino is beautifully spun and I bet it’s really soft. I’m with you on the Nancy Bush socks, but now I think I need to try some Bearfoot. Great sweater, Liz.

  2. January 3, 2006 2:16 pm

    Sounds like you guys have a fun tradition going on! The Cashmere merino is out of this World!!!!Amazing spinning Pru!!!!! Gotta love the socks! I think in my two weeks of hiatus I will have a sweater, bag and socks started and finished. I love vacation;-)

  3. January 4, 2006 11:31 am

    What a lot of gorgeous spinning inspiration. Thank you!

  4. January 7, 2006 6:40 am

    everthing is lovely, but that cashmere/merino is outstanding!!!!!

  5. August 18, 2006 1:43 pm

    I want to do the Friday Harbor socks, but I don’t know where to use Chart 2. Please let me know, so I can have socks as pretty as yours are!

Leave a Reply

