Skip to content

I have a dream

January 17, 2006
by

“And when this happens, when we allow freedom to ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual: Free at last! Free at last! Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

I was driving to pick up Emily at 5:00 yesterday and they played an excerpt from that speech, and they juxtaposed it with some damnfool sound byte of the Preznit speaking at some observation of the day, and I literally cried. The dream isn’t dead but they’ve sure stomped on it.

* * * * * *

Yesterday was my day off and I spent it working on computers. There’s no justice. Actually I was migrating to a new PC and it went pretty well, it just took longer than I thought, so I only knitted 4 rows. Luckily things had progressed enough in the preceding week that you still have some pictures to look at.

I have 3 1/4 sleeves done and only 3/4ths of a sleeve to go, so the sleeve season is winding down.
I have joined the sleeves to the body of Empirical and am knitting the yoke. I can’t wait to wear this, the fabric is so smooth and lush.

The second sleeve of Cutaway is coming along, but it’s not too photogenic at this point. Perhaps in a week or so I will be assembling that one at last.

I spent a fair amount of time knitting on Margaux this weekend, it’s starting to look like what it’s supposed to be.

I have been puzzling over one aspect of it, as I knit along. The very first instruction is to cast on 49 stitches with a provisional caston for the hood. The intention is that the top center of the hood will be grafted together later to form a seamless fabric. I decided right off the bat that I had no intention of grafting something done with yarn held double – talk about making oneself nuts. So I just did a regular caston and will fudge something at the top for a decent look. It dawned on me, though – how on earth does one graft something where there is an odd number of stitches?? If it was 48 or 50 and I folded it in half, it would work. What’s up with that??

I finished spinning and plying the cashmere/merino, but the plying didn’t get done until late last night and I was so frustrated by the number of barfglobs that came out of the center pull ball that the floor around the wheel was strewn with little clumps of knotted single that I just ripped off. It was only a gram or so of single lost, when I got right down to it, but I decided I didn’t want to look at it again just yet so it’s still sitting on the bobbin.

My reward for that is going to be to spin some silk/merino that I bought at Maryland Sheep and Wool in 2004. I want to practice up before I tackle this.

Isn’t it just heavenly? It’s Lisa’s silk/merino in Sky Drama. Every time I open a package from Lisa it’s even more wonderful than I expected. It’s impossible to photograph how this stuff shines.

Here is my photography assistant.

She gave the whole endeavor a nice rhythm. Lay out sweater, move cat, take picture. Lay out sweater, move cat, take picture.

There was some afternoon sun for the first time in awhile so I tried to take some pictures of Liz’s sweater.

I’ve been wearing it a LOT – it’s a wonderful medium weight that’s perfect for throwing on when the evening is cold. Toby seems to really like it, for whatever reason, he gets up on my lap and starts kneading the front of the sweater like a nursing kitten.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2006 10:42 am

    Emperical is looking great! The sky drama is mouth watering and Liz’s sweater is really nice. The slight varigation sure looks nice with it.

  2. Melanie permalink
    January 17, 2006 11:20 am

    I can’t wait to see how Sky Drama spins up. What colours! Empirical looks soft and cuddly, and I love the design of Liz’s sweater, particularly the way the cables start at the bottom.

  3. January 18, 2006 9:38 am

    Believe it or not I think grafting an odd number of sts together is easier. First when you are grafting you usually end up a half stitch off. At least that is what I think it normal ;^/ On a hood this can be a plus~ start at front edges and move towards fold juncture so your half stitch will end up being the half stitch you get from folding one stitch in half. Muddy as usual but you get the drift.

  4. Denise permalink
    January 18, 2006 11:39 am

    I’ve been plying up from center-pull balls and dealing with barfglobs too (too funny – that’s exactly what I call them). Most of the balls had only isolated incidents but one just kept producing…making the usually enjoyable plying process quite frustrating. I applied the amputation solution too. Much better!
    Can’t wait to see that merino silk spun up!
    Denise S

Leave a Reply

