Skip to content

Some things are finished

January 23, 2006
by

Ok I’m not the French Girl, but here’s Margaux.

It’s pretty cute and I actually already wore it once, on Saturday when it was warm and drizzly.
I think I’m going to add another button and loop up at the base of the hood. Because the fabric is not very firm, the garter band at the base of the hood stretches all out and hangs down on my shoulders. So it needs another button, or maybe I can move the bottom button up to that location.

I also got around to plying the cashmere/merino. Here’s the whole lot.

The new hank is in front.

Altogether I think I have 1000 or 1100 yards here. I plan to cast on for Moscow Nights as soon as I clear off my WIPs a little. I should have both Empirical and Cutaway done very soon – they are both quite close to finished.

I started spinning some 85/15 merino/silk in a lovely color called ‘Teal swirl’ that I bought at Maryland 2 years ago. This picture makes it look very blue, but it is a really nice mix of turquoise and green with the white silk throughout. I tend to think of teal as an ugly boring color (think uniforms) but this is coming out quite nice. I only have 8 ounces so I’m trying my best to stretch it out for yardage.

I also cast on for a hat for Emily but there’s not much to see there yet. Next week’s pictures should be much more interesting!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Zeila permalink
    January 23, 2006 12:00 pm

    What a fun little knit! It looks like great fun to wear, too.
    Zeila

  2. January 24, 2006 12:19 am

    Your spinning looks gorgeous, Miss Pru. I have some beige merino/cashmere that is calling to me from the dining room table and since it isn’t going to be dyed, it should be the fastest spin on the planet. Did you enjoy yours? The S/M looks wonderful. Yum!
    What can I say…Little Red Riding Hood! :o)

  3. January 24, 2006 6:17 am

    The hood looks great! The yarn sub was perfect!
    The casmere/merino looks unbeleivable and will make an amazing moscow nights! One of those on my very long list;-)
    The color on teal swirl will be perfect for you.I love the shine!

  4. January 24, 2006 4:55 pm

    Everything looks lovely – maybe a row of slip-stitch crocheted around the garter base would snug things up enough for you?
    The Silk/Merino looks absolutely decadent, and I can’t wait to see the coming completed projects and then Moscow Nights!

  5. January 25, 2006 11:20 pm

    Fun cape! Was Emily fighting you for it? If I were a kid and my mom had a cape and not me, well, I don’t think I would survive. I agree about moving the button up, or how would it work to have another button?
    Loverly yarn!

  6. January 26, 2006 8:03 am

    Angela, you are right again, I don’t know why I can’t remember that little crochet chain thing for myself! It worked great!

Leave a Reply

