Skip to content

No finishing

February 6, 2006
by

Someone asked in last week’s comments – what are you going to do NEXT week?

What, indeed? Well, I didn’t finish OR start anything. I kept plugging away at what I was already doing.

I have almost one Koigu sock. It’s turning out better than I expected, both in terms of fit and in how this yarn looks worked up. It wasn’t that striking in the ball but it’s looking great in the sock.

I’m using this pattern again, it’s the perfect toe-up sock for me. I like the figure-8 caston despite the fiddliness at first, and it has a flap and gusset heel.

I decided to spin more silk/merino singles instead of plying the first batch, and I didn’t spin all that much this weekend with one thing and another. I hope the little wee center pull balls don’t turn into rocks (the way brown sugar does) before I come back to ply them.

And I’ve saved the best for last. I kept on with Eris. I finished the collar – it took me 8 nights, working on it 45 minutes to an hour each night, and it’s beautiful.

Best of all (attention, Liz!) – there is NO GRAFTING to make this. You’d think by how you start it off that you would graft. But, no. You work each side down a certain distance, then put both sides onto a needle and start working across both sides as you execute a chart that narrows down to a point and leaves one stitch you just fasten off.

My favorite part is how the final little cables end with a downward curve.

Last night I picked up stitches around the collar and started the yoke/shoulder area. It’s done with short rows, back and forth around the back neck and a little further down the collar each time. So I haven’t yet started knitting from 2 balls of yarn – it’s enough to be wrapping and turning without swapping balls of yarn as well. Once I get going fully in the round, below the point of the collar, I will start working from 2 balls to even out the character of the handspun.

This is holding my interest sufficiently that I haven’t even been tempted to wind yarn and cast on something else. Once I get to the cruising part of Eris, though, I plan to start something else. I had thought it would be ‘Moscow Nights’ but now I’m feeling fickle and indecisive. We’ll see.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2006 9:33 am

    Neato Keeno!! I’ve loved the pictures of it, it’s a great sweater. It sounds fun, too – I may just have to put this on my list… How do you think it would work in cotton?

  2. February 6, 2006 9:35 am

    Hm cotton. I think you might be ok if you used Cotton Fleece (because the little bit of wool might help it hold shape) and knit tightly. Otherwise I think the weight of cotton might pull it down and out of shape. I’m using merino.

  3. February 6, 2006 9:43 am

    Your yarn is just stunning here in Eris, Caroline! It looks fantastic!

  4. Melanie permalink
    February 6, 2006 10:45 am

    The merino/silk has a wonderful sheen. It looks quite fine, is it lace weight? Eris looks really nice in your handspun.

  5. February 6, 2006 12:18 pm

    What a gorgeous pearly sheen that Eris yarn has! Lovin’ the colors of your late spinning, too.

  6. February 6, 2006 12:38 pm

    I caught the bug also. I am now past all the shortrows and eris has become my car knitting. I am enjoying the knitting (I also like the way Andean Silk feels).
    I was beginning to not enjoy knitting – the endless socks I have to make (If I want warm, clean feet) and the shawl that needs good light and attention. I didn’t have to do tons of measuring or try hard to get an aran pattern to fit my extremely broad back and my extremely large belly.
    I don’t know if Eris is actually going to fit me, and I don’t think my decreases ended up as nice as yours. But, I think it is just great, fun knitting – and I needed a cruise item that was not on DP’s.

  7. February 7, 2006 6:49 pm

    The Eris collar looks wonderful. I can’t wait to see how it’s going to look.

Leave a Reply

