Skip to content

White out

February 13, 2006
by

Saturday night, in the middle of the big snowstorm, I tried to think spring.

This is the beginning of another Flower Basket shawl, this one as springlike as my last one was autumnal. The yarn is 100% silk from Blackberry Ridge, in a colorway I think is called ‘Blossom’. It jumped up at me when I opened the rotating stash box, and said MEMEMEMEME. I’m not sure why, it’s all pastel-y (buttercup yellow, pale green, pale violet), and I’m not a pastel person. Maybe it was the shine. Anyhow we’re going to try to get a Flower Basket out of it. One thing I really like about it so far is that the color runs are very short – so rather than pooling or striping, it makes a nice overall shimmer.

Otherwise, I continued plugging away on my Koigu socks and on the yoke of Eris. This is becoming harder to photograph as it becomes 3-dimensional.

Opal the poodle tried to help but he or she doesn’t really have shoulders.

I picked up for the yoke and knit the short-row section Sunday and Monday. Tuesday I decided I had made too many mistakes, ripped it out, and reknitted it Tuesday and Wednesday. Then I began the raglan increases that lead down to the armholes, and that’s where I am at the moment. Once the body gets longer it should be easier to photograph. It’s hard to tell, as I go along, what the finished sweater will be like, given I’m knitting with handspun and it’s a little variable.
This is going to be one of those sweaters that will have a list of mistakes published along with its FO picture. When I got done the short row section of the yoke, I was 2 stitches short on one of the sleeve sections. I just fudged those stitches back in. Then, when I started the round knitting and continued the raglan increases, I didn’t do the twists on the odd-numbered rows that did not have the raglan increases. I decided it just wasn’t worth ripping back and doing those – the twists on every row made the raglan increases look a bit lumpy – yep that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. We’ll see how many more mistakes I end up absorbing before this is finished.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2006 12:38 pm

    Well, Eris looks like it is a challenge and a puzzle and will be extra gorgeous when it is done. Did you make it into work today? I think that Mother Nature is toying with us because she is just tired and grouchy. I know that we here on the left coast will pay the price for those people walking around in shorts this weekend…we will get some winter again as well.

  2. February 13, 2006 6:39 pm

    I love how the FBS is turning out! I tried it with some variegated once and yuck-o. The pattern shows up very nicely in yours, though.
    Eris already looks like a great cuddling up sweater!

Leave a Reply

