Skip to content

Arches, Part Deux

March 11, 2006

But first, in the acquisitions department, I’ve got a brand new spindle, and it’s a real little honey.

This is a Flowers Overlay 0.9 oz. spindle, made by Tracy Eicheim of Woolly Designs. The 3″ diameter whorl is walnut with a Baltic birch overlay with flower cut outs. The shaft is 7.5″ long.

This baby just spins, and spins, and spins. I run out of arm before I run out of spin. That’s a bit of merino/qiviut on the spindle.

It’s a pleasure doing business with Tracy. He asked me some questions about what weight and shaft length I would like, and it’s all perfect. He suggested that I try a notch at 3:00 instead of 6:00, and it works very well. He bends the hook slightly off the vertical, so that the yarn can be perfectly aligned with the shaft when spinning. Very nice.

And here is Arches:

I’m so glad I took Prudence’s advice and started the lace a bit higher up. After separating the front and back at the underarm I added four more cable twists before starting the lace. The sweater is knit with Elann’s Peruvian Alpaca on a 4.5 mm needle. I spool knit the bottom i-cord edging and picked up the stitches from it instead of adding the i-cord at the end. Because I wanted the sweater to be longer than the pattern, I had to add some width at the bottom as well. I added two stitches in each of the stockinette panels and then reduced one stitch in each panel at 5.5″ and 6.5″. The length to the underarm is 15″ instead of the 11″ that the pattern calls for. Now I am hoping that the alpaca doesn’t stretch. I’ve worn it twice and there has been no growth so far. I really don’t want an alpaca dress.

A while back we were talking about sock heels; specifically a Dutch or square heel vs. a round heel. The Dutch heel doesn’t suit Prudence, but I must have square heels. It feels a bit roomier than the round heel, but they both seem to fit my foot about the same.

Life has been just a little crazy lately, and the strangest thing happened to me. I found myself with nothing (nothing!) on the needles. No UFOs anywhere. Wow, that hasn’t happened in decades. I’m swatching for Am Kamim (no luck yet), and I’m joining the Diamond Fantasy Shawl knit along. Maybe see some of you there?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2006 1:00 am

    Congrats on the new baby!! I’m glad it finally made it through customs – and it looks like you found some yummy roving to start off with!
    Your Arches turned out great!! Love the color, length, all of it.

  2. March 12, 2006 9:02 am

    Beautiful spindle! And Arches looks so nice and just the same color as mine. I will be interested in seeing whether you get any stretching in the lace part as that’s where my cotton one seems to have given, unfortunately.
    Nothing on the needles? Wow. That must have been such a feeling of freedom to start a whole bunch of things!

  3. March 12, 2006 9:04 am

    That is a beautiful spindle, and the fiber is fitting! It looks like a great job spinning it, as well.

  4. March 12, 2006 11:44 am

    nothing on the needles? gah!
    lovely spindle, and the sweater fits you beautifully!

  5. March 12, 2006 12:34 pm

    Arches looks like a perfect fit. And, the spindle is a beauty!

  6. March 12, 2006 5:55 pm

    Wow! A gorgeous spindle–I’m jealous. A gorgeous sweater–and I’m jealous of that, too! 🙂 I too am soon to face “nothing” on the needles. I’m finishing a couple of old projects. Then? who knows?

  7. March 12, 2006 10:14 pm

    Arches fits you so well–fantastic job!

  8. March 13, 2006 5:21 am

    Wow Mel Arches came out really beautiful! i love all of the details! The socks look like a perfect fit. I’m going to have to see if there are any Tracy Eichiem spindles to try at M$W. My list of spindle wants is growing;-)

  9. March 13, 2006 1:19 pm

    I will have to echo elizabeth on the spindle and arches. both are wonderful! see ya at the df kal.

  10. March 13, 2006 7:30 pm

    Oooohhh – what a great spindle. Arches looks great, I can’t wait to see them both in person. What are you going to use for the DFS?

  11. June permalink
    March 13, 2006 8:58 pm

    Nothing on the needles?? I can’t even imagine it, unless of course I ripped everything out! Your arches is great, of course, I love the color! Have fun with that spindle too, they are great stress relievers!

Leave a Reply

