Skip to content

Where to, what next

March 20, 2006
by

Eris is done. Too bad it’s spring and I can’t wear it right away.

This is the cuff and the side of the shirttail, which shows where I did the hem band graft, just to the left of the end of the cable pattern.

This is the center front of the neckband.

This was really fun to knit, and the handspun yarn gives it a chewy look and feel that is very different from commercial yarn. It probably looks more rustic than it should for the character of the design, but I like it.

I dithered and dithered about what to knit next. Lace? No, I already have a stalled silk Flower Basket I need to get back to. Sock? Already have one going. I needed something at a healthy gauge. After a day or two of dithering I finally cast on for ‘St Enda’ from St*rmore’s Aran Knitting, in sage-green Berroco Bluefaced Leicester. We’ll see if I stick with it. I should have cast on for a Dulaan hat while I was dithering.

Kerry was a bad influence on me and led to me getting another spindle.

This is a Tabachek, and I got it from The Wheel Thing. It’s walnut, and it weighs about 1.25 ounces, my favorite weight in a spindle.

The shaft is very long, very finished and smooth, and has lovely detailing at the bottom.

I tested it out with a little handcombed Targhee. It is a long, leisurely spinner – it doesn’t make a vortex like the Bosworth that I have, but it seems able to go on and on and on in its calm fashion.
Getting that sixth spindle put me over what will hang on the bottom of my wire basket. I was always knocking a spindle off of there anyway whenever I went to change the whorl on my wheel.

So, inspired by something I saw at Spindlicity, I made my own.

An oak bathroom towel rack from Home Depot, and a bunch of cup hooks. I probably put the hooks too close together, but there’s still room on there for a handful of spindles. After much cursing and stomping I finally got it attached to the brick wall in my fiber porch.

I finished the rest of the teal silk/merino (speaking of cursing and stomping) and I will show a picture of it all together next week. I think I have about 1000 or 1100 yards. What a pain it was to ply, though! I’m glad it’s done.

I think before I start another spinning project I’m going to take the Symphony apart and put it back together. It’s just been so out of tune lately, and I had the whorl unscrew itself while I was plying yesterday, which it hasn’t done in ages. There was hardly any tension on anything, so I’m not sure what was up, but I think I need to do a breakdown and rebuild before I do any more spinning. So that’s on for next weekend.

Here’s a Sock! sock in progress, the Latvian Socks from Folk Socks (I am continuing my Nancy Bush craze). The color is ‘Pacific.’

Isn’t it cool? The streak of purple really makes the whole thing zing. It doesn’t really show in the photo, but there’s a streak of purple in the blue sections. Very cool.

We seem to have joined the Virus of the Week club at my house. After not getting sick the entire school year, Emily has had a different something-or-other every week that is causing me to drain my leave and cool my heels at home. At least today she’s in bed, instead of swinging from the rafters like she did on the day she was home LAST week. Sigh.

Meanwhile it’s mostly spring here although I hear there will be an inch of snow tomorrow. Here’s a picture of my little daffodils and crocuses before the kids next door decimated them for fun.

Not as pretty as the pictures Mary has been showcasing, but it’s what we’ve got here. Hope there’s no snow on your first day of spring. No viruses either.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2006 1:28 pm

    First, I LOVE your Eris! I don’t think it’s too rustic at all – you did a great job and if you end up getting snow tomorrow it will be a perfect day for it.
    Your spindle is cool, I’m glad to have played whatever part I played in the acquisition. That rack has FIVE empty spaces! It’s a good thing I’ll be out there in LESS THAN 7 WEEKS and I can maybe help you get those spots filled.
    And the “out of tune” Symphony comment cracked me up! I have the same thing happen on my Country Craftsman – my problem originates from one of the uprights falling a little to the side – throws off everything. It’s only off by maybe a millimeter, but it’ll only hang on to the whorl for 10 minutes or so. I am supposed to stick a sliver of a shim in there to fix it, so far I haven’t had any luck. Mostly because I haven’t tried.

  2. Melanie permalink
    March 20, 2006 3:42 pm

    Eris is gorgeous and, once again, you have got a perfect fit! I hope that you can wear it at least a couple of days before it gets too warm.
    The Tabachek is a very handsome spindle; the turnings on the end of the shaft are very appealing. I have come to think of Kerry as the Johnny Appleseed of spindles.

  3. Sam permalink
    March 20, 2006 6:33 pm

    I agree – I think the Eris is lovely, and you’ll enjoy wearing it all the more for it’s being totally your creation – kudos to you! I’m sorry to hear that the virus still reigns. Hang in there and knit on that gorgeous sock. Give Emmy a squeeze for me! πŸ™‚

  4. March 20, 2006 10:42 pm

    Your handspun Eris is lovely and a perfect fit, too. What an accomplishment! Love the new spindle rack. Something tells me we’re all going to be running into each other at the spindle booths next month.

  5. March 21, 2006 6:29 am

    Wow Caroline Eris is amazing! It fits beautifully. I can’t wait to see it in person;-)
    The tabachek spindle looks really pretty.
    The socks look great. I keep talking myself out of buying merino sock! I don’t know how long that will last.

  6. March 21, 2006 7:20 am

    caroline, i don’t know where to start! eris is unbelievably gorgeous, love the new spindle, congrats on the spindle rack! and i am so trying to stop myself from looking at lisa’s sock!

  7. March 21, 2006 12:57 pm

    Eris is just stunning on you and I think the chewiness of the yarn really ‘makes’ the sweater. Tabacheks are stunning aren’t they? I just got a bird’s eye maple one and it goes Forever.
    Hope you guys move right out of Virus City.

  8. March 21, 2006 8:02 pm

    Eric is lovely!! It looks beautiful! I love all your spindles and the nifty rack you hung them off of – it’s a great display also πŸ˜‰

  9. March 22, 2006 1:33 pm

    I must be the last one to see this – Eris is absolutely gorgeous and it looks like it fits really well! I like all the mods you did with the shirttail hem. Very, very nice. I hope by now that you and Emmy are bug free. Hang in there!

  10. March 23, 2006 5:18 pm

    1) Beautiful Eris! I’ve seen a lot of folks working on it, but it’s rare to see a finished one. Good job!
    2)For making room on the spindle rack – you can stagger the spindles vertically by making little yarn loops to hang between the spindle hook and the cup hook.

Leave a Reply

