Skip to content

Timing

April 17, 2006
by

Just about in time for this

we had this

for someone who’s been asking for it

St Enda looks the same pretty much as it did last week but we have these

Emily’s are on the right – some Regia neon-rainbow yarn that I think Elka sent me. Mine are on the left – some superwash merino sock yarn I bought on eBay – I won’t say from whom because I think I may yet kvetch about it. It looks quite different in the sock from in the skein – in the skein you have wonderful red, with turquoise and gold and green, and it looks very nice. In the sock you have a bright red spiral, but the other colors seem to be speckling over one another in such a way as to essentially muddy themselves out. We’ll keep watch on this developing problem.

When I first wound the yarn I decided I wanted to knit the ‘Canal du Midi’ socks from Knitting on the Road – but I got about 5 rows into the twisted stitch pattern and decided I was insane to do them in this yarn, the pattern was totally lost. I settled on the Dublin Bay socks from Ryan, because they are simple but not dull (they have a cute little lace inset down the sides). (Speaking of Ryan, her Movable Type setup is hosed and she has not been able to solve the problem for a whole week – if anyone has MT wisdom, and wants to see if you can help, I’m sure she’d appreciate it, as would her million fans who are grumpy without their fix.)

Anyway – with weather like this

there wasn’t much time for this

what with all the mowing and raking and mulching and digging and hauling, but at the end of it all there was this

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    April 18, 2006 12:14 pm

    Emmy looks very pretty in her new hat, and I think she’ll love her new colourful socks. I sure hope that temperature holds for MDSW!

  2. Sam permalink
    April 19, 2006 11:06 am

    Wahoo! I love our new look! 🙂 Em’s hat is beautiful, and you know for a fact that winter will return. Keep those warm temps a-coming! I’m sorry about the sock yarn, but we’ll adopt the wait and see attitude. 🙂

  3. April 19, 2006 2:15 pm

    I did my jaywalkers in that Regia so let me know if you want the bits I’ve got left.
    Emmy’s new hat looks great, I like the contrasting band/crown.

Leave a Reply

