Skip to content

Half Done

April 19, 2006

Half of a shawl, half of a sock, and half spun fleece.

About a pound and a half of silver grey pin drafted roving came back from the processor and I think I have spun about half of it.

The prep is nice, but it is nowhere near as nice as my own hand combed fibre. I have already spun and plied one bobbin’s worth with some of the singles I spun last summer from my hand combed stuff. That’s just over 1,000 yards of it resting on my half knit shawl, beneath my half knit sock.

The sock yarn is Socks That Rock in the Atomic colourway and the pattern is Evelyn Clark’s Retro Rib sock from the winter 2004 issue of Interweave Knits. Kind of neat the way the colour is swirling down the leg. I wonder if the other sock will match.

I signed up for Sivia Harding’s Diamond Fantasy kint along and I’m using the yarn that I spun from Lisa Souza’s lovely superfine merino in the Beach Stone colourway. I’m not too sure if the horizontal striping will detract from the design, but I’m going to finish it regardless. The striping might not be as noticeable after blocking. This is a nice soothing knit, and I love the way the border is knit right along with the shawl. Yes, those are beads in the centre of the diamonds. I seem to want to add beads to everything these days.

Now I have to figure out what would be good travel knitting. MDSW is almost here and it will take six hours of airplane time plus one layover to get there. Maybe another shawl – lots of knitting without a lot of yarn to take with me.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2006 8:35 pm

    I love how the shawl is turning out! The beads are a nice touch. Now, tell me more about the fibers – like, what are they??? I love that silver roving. What are you going to make with your white yarn? Maybe you should be knitting something with that on the MD trip? It seems appropriate to be knitting with handspun on the trip to Fiberland.

  2. April 20, 2006 6:36 am

    Wow that shade of silver is beautiful! I have yet to find my ideal silver fleece…

  3. April 20, 2006 12:27 pm

    Great pictures Melanie, your DFS is looking wonderful, striping and all. I really like how the Atomic is coming out. Thanks for the tea.

  4. April 20, 2006 5:45 pm

    Sometimes life is all about the half finished projects. At least yours are exciting! I think the DFS looks great in the beachstone. I am casting off my scarf even as I type.

  5. Sam permalink
    April 21, 2006 10:31 am

    Beautiful stuff, Mel! The Beachstone is looking so pretty. I really have to get busy working on mine again! Lovely work, as ever!

  6. April 21, 2006 12:45 pm

    I think the dfs looks amazing!!!!! I didn’t even recognize it.

  7. April 21, 2006 7:59 pm

    I love the silver fleece! Looks like a Wooly Winder has been in action!

  8. April 21, 2006 10:04 pm

    The silver Perendale looks lovely. It was interesting to hear that your hand combed stuff was superior. Hope you’ll bring your Beach Stone DFS to Maryland. It’s another of Lisa’s colorways that’s on my short list to buy.

  9. April 21, 2006 11:28 pm

    Love the spinning.

  10. April 22, 2006 6:57 am

    melanie, as always your spinning is eye candy 🙂

  11. April 22, 2006 2:24 pm

    Mel, your work is always so awesome, it makes me wonder if I should even sit in the same pew as ewe!

  12. Lara permalink
    April 25, 2006 10:15 am

    Gorgeous stuff Mel! I can’t wait to hear all about MDSW. Have fun.

  13. April 26, 2006 6:33 pm

    Wow, this is gorgeous stuff. Thank you for inspiring us with your photography and fiber. Btw, nothing is better than your own combed fiber but pindrafting is certainly a lot easier, in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

