Skip to content

Join Up

April 24, 2006
by

All week I knit diligently on St. Enda, to the exclusion of all else, to reach this point:

All pieces knit to underarm. Time to join up.

Forty-five minutes later I had this:

It looks sort of like a kids’ sweater, but that’s because it’s missing its entire upper third. It now takes about 20 minutes to knit a row, so 24 hours later it still looked pretty much like that. I am now following the calculations I had done on various scraps of paper, and trying not to re-analyze them on the fly.

I may regret this later, but I decided I would not try to make a design element out of the sleeve/body decrease line. There was no element of the existing pattern that presented itself to go up that line, just acres of sand stitch at the sides of body and sleeve. I decided – what the heck – we’ll just try to ignore the decrease line, allowing the sand stitch to run into itself, and see what happens. Worst case – I hate this whole setup and I rip back to the armhole and knit it like a plain square saddle shoulder.

It took a couple of rows to get accustomed to how the stitches lie on the needles when knitting in the round. Because I wrap my purl stitches clockwise, I have to actually purl into the back loop of every purl stitch that is above another purl stitch. I was disoriented for a row or two, then got used to looking for the leading side of each stitch and now I’m fine. I don’t want to change how I’m knitting the stitches and have the upper part look different.

That was my evening activity. In the mornings, I plyed a lot. If anyone has been mildly interested in spinning undyed tussah silk, I have to say, get more interested. This stuff is coming out amazing.

It has an amazing shine and it’s so soft. These hanks are each a little over 3 ounces, and 225-250 yards or so. I have no idea what gauge they will knit to.

I hated to set the twist by plopping the stuff in water – I really hope it regains its shine and lightness. I wanted to put them on the pillow at night and pet them.

There is a bit left on both bobbins, so I can ply up a little more during the week before I start spinning singles again.

Administrivia: Within the next few weeks, we hope Pink Tea will have a makeover. We’re going to change our looks, and our name, but probably not our URL, at least not right away. We’ll post a little fanfare when it goes live.

I will most likely be away from the blog next weekend, I’m getting away from it all – someone else here at the tea will surely have something to post. I will be back in two weeks with pictures of the festivities at Maryland Sheep and Wool. Meanwhile, have some kitties.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    April 24, 2006 9:45 am

    St. Enda is looking very nice, but those skeins of silk caused my eyes to pop. Wowza, they are incredibly gorgeous!

  2. April 24, 2006 1:26 pm

    Wait! You can’t just leave me hanging at this critical juncture!!!
    I hope you are as happy with your shaping as I am with mine. Have fun at MS&W (she says through gritted teeth).

  3. April 24, 2006 2:31 pm

    Does this mean I am going to stop hosting you? I certainly don’t mind hosting you.

  4. April 24, 2006 2:33 pm

    No! I just don’t want to make you export us and re-import us under a new name!

  5. April 24, 2006 6:56 pm

    Oh, all my favourite eye-candy in one entry! Knitting, yarn (& shiny yarn, too), and cats. Purring here.

  6. April 25, 2006 7:10 am

    Oh those skeins are just gorgeous. I just want to squeeze them.

  7. May 4, 2006 12:25 pm

    Oh, so lovely. And so great to see you last week–I hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

