Skip to content

Welcome Ewe

May 9, 2006
by

My favorite fiber event is over for another year. I think I’m recovered. My house is recovered. Emmy is mostly recovered from the letdown of having so much company depart. I am NOT recovered from having written half of this post and then hit the wrong key and refreshed the screen before saving.

Saturday morning after sitting in awful traffic for half an hour to get into the grounds (I’ll be looking for an alternate route next year) we made it to the meetup spot just in time. Many folks dived straight into the t-shirt line to get the accessories they wanted. The first people we met up with were Laura, Georgiana (Tina’s mom) and Tina, and Elizabeth and her husband.

We hung around awhile while people came and went. It was great to see Louise again, looking healthy and cheerful. Then we began wandering the circuit. The weather as you can see was perfect – not too hot, with a nice breeze that started up at just the right time in the middle of the afternoon.

I didn’t take any pictures of the beautiful things for sale, although it seemed to me to be a little less congested than it was last year and I probably could have. Other people have cute sheep pictures, too – Emily decided they were too loud (imagine that – sheep too loud) because she heard them complaining while they got their show-ring trims, so she didn’t want to go into the sheep barns and by 4:00 I was too tired to care. We dragged ourselves home, and in the twinkling of an eye the house filled up with people. I swear there was someone spindling in every corner. At one point I wandered around with the camera and took a few shots but I’m sure I missed some people. I think we have discovered the official limit on the number of people who can be in my house at one time.

Robyn, Liz, and Mary, with Laura in the foreground.

Sam, Elizabeth, Georgiana, Tina, and Mel, with Joanne in the foreground.

Tina, Jen, Melanie, Elka, Vicki, and Jen, with Kerry in the foreground.

Seeking peace on the porch – Pam, Roberta, and Judy (Joanne’s mom).

Laura finished an object while we were sitting there – here is her unblocked faroese-shaped feather and fan shawl.

Sorry for the bad pictures, I was just too tired and will do better next year.

I didn’t buy too much stuff – a little more than I intended, but serious quality.

Sock yarn from Tess. I went there with this at the top of my list, as the Conwy socks I made last year turned out so well.

The most interesting carded batts of angora, silk, and wool, one ounce each. I don’t remember the name of the seller of these but she was in the main building tucked next to one of the side exit doors. I have never spun angora and if I’d read the sign before I laid hands on this stuff I might have walked by, but oh boy once I picked one up I could not put it down. This will need a good amount of twist so it will have to wait its turn on the big wheel but if I can spin it fine I can get a little scarf out of each batt.

A very lightweight Bosworth midi spindle – this one is oak, and weighs about .9 ounces. I picked it up and tried it out with some fiber they had lying around, and I was instantly in love. I tried a mini last year and it didn’t really click for me, but then I found out that they had midis that were under an ounce if you picked the lighter woods – and wow. You can probably find more fabulous looking spindles around, but nothing spins like one of these midis.

1000 yards of Brooks Farm ‘Harmony’ wool/silk/mohair, for a shawl. This is the purchase that sort of broke the bank, but with tuition bills starting this July, am I likely to buy it next year? No! This color was impossible to photograph, but it is lavender and grey-green like the lavender bushes outside my front door. I can’t find it on their website, either. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Two hanks of Mountain Colors Bearfoot sock yarn. I loved knitting with it so much in December, I have to do it again. The first color I picked up was called ‘Crazy Woman’ so I knew it was meant to be.

I did actually get a lot of knitting done during the weekend, and Emmy and I got some nice little gifties too, but I didn’t have the energy to take a second round of photographs. I’ll save something for next week. Thanks for visiting us, everyone, hope to see you again next year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sam permalink
    May 9, 2006 11:01 am

    Whoa – I’m just impressed you had energy to post at all! I love that sheep flag. Thanks again for hosting, Caroline. I’m glad to hear that you’re all mostly recovered, and how did I miss getting to see your Mountain Colors? 😉 Oy…colors are gorgeous, though. Give Emmy a squeeze and the kitties a scritch under the neck. 🙂

  2. May 9, 2006 9:19 pm

    Thanks again for letting us all invade your home! A great time was had by all!
    I think you captured the colors of your Brooks Farm pretty closely – looks richer in real life.

Leave a Reply

