Skip to content

“Hungry? Eat Popcorn.”

May 15, 2006
by

OK, back to normal here at the Tea. The Beautiful People have all gone home and it’s time to talk fiber again.

A little piece of market research is being conducted this morning. Prudence is attempting to determine whether in fact she blogs for an audience of 2. An explanation of the research method will be provided at the completion of your viewing session.

Last week I referred to  presents we received from our visitors. Here are some of them. I seem to have misplaced my photo of the adorable crocheted cotton soap mitt and doily that Elizabeth brought me, but Sam brought me some lovely fiber in shades of blue, and 2 ounces of tussah silk in a shade called ‘Lilacs’ (my favorite flower).

Jen from Connecticut who doesn’t have a blog made these  lovely stitch markers and an incredibly clever row counter.

She made Emily a bracelet too, which is in the process of being lengthened a tad so it will fit her when she finally decides she wants to wear jewelry.

Joanne brought me a little bag of chocolate brown Shetland fiber, which I plan to comb and spindle. No photo, sorry…

Remember these?

Well, besides being the world’s worst carder, I was not loving spinning this particular targhee
for some reason (perhaps connected to my carding abilities). Since Sam loves targhee, they are packed to send to her. I decided to use the nearly-completed bobbin of singles as a navajo ply exercise.

It’s a nice yarn but I’m still sending away the carded targhee.  What I learned? That navajo plying is a great way to make a controlled yarn out of an incredibly springy fiber. I’m now combing some rambouillet that I dyed in the fleece, and I think I will try to spin fine and 3 ply.

St Enda is  nearly done – I will be in finishing hell this week, tacking down the neckband facing and sewing up the side and sleeve seams. There will be FO pictures next week. Meantime here is a picture of the shoulder shaping, perhaps you can see how the sleeve fed into the body.

There is a noticeable bump where the saddle turns the shoulder corner, and I found myself unable to decide how to take Janine’s advice and do an extra body decrease there. I should have. But I’m not going back. I think a good block will smooth everything out. Funny how one becomes optimistic at the strangest times… I just read the section in Stephanie’s new book where you take a little quiz to determine what type of knitter you are. I came out two parts ‘Sensei’ and two parts ‘Organic.’ I was not in the least surprised to find out that I was no parts ‘Scientist’ – a Scientist would have negotiated that shoulder to perfection…


This market research study was conducted for us by a Mr. J. Vicary who seemed quite sincere.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2006 11:30 am

    Fear not!
    You could set up a tracker at statcounter.com, if you wanted a little more detail about who was coming by.
    Off to eat some popcorn…

  2. May 15, 2006 11:30 am

    OKay, Okay, you twisted my arm into it! I’m a regular reader but I’m terrible about leaving comments. I’ll try to be better!

  3. Melanie permalink
    May 15, 2006 12:17 pm

    Yes, I too am a regular reader but lax about commenting. Will try harder, though.

  4. Sam permalink
    May 15, 2006 12:26 pm

    Bwahaha! O.k., love the buttons, and point well taken. What I want to know is how do you get such great color on your photos? Mine always seem to come out no way resembling their actual colors. You seem to get it dead on every time. I think St Enda is gorgeous, and am waiting for the “in use” photos – with perfect color resolution, of course. 😉 There – I’ve done my bit to stave off the terrorists and keep the blogosphere safe for democracy.

  5. May 15, 2006 12:38 pm

    OK it was worth it to litter that posting with buttons, to get some visitor footprints! June, there used to be a sitemeter on us when we were hosted at nwkniterati but it puts a cookie on every reader’s PC and I decided I’d rather not do that.
    I learned something new preparing for this post: that the ‘Eat More Popcorn’ study was a huge and famous hoax.

  6. May 15, 2006 12:44 pm

    I think that the sleeve/shoulder join looks GREAT! I can’t wait to see it on you. Yeah, the “ease the turn” move is pretty simple but I totally forgot to calculate for the vertical space it takes when I plotted my sleeve. Next time’s the charm.

  7. May 15, 2006 12:49 pm

    Nice goodies! Looks like that blue fiber has a bit of silk in it?

  8. May 15, 2006 12:50 pm

    Teeheehee – you caught me. I’m a reader too! (But I usually comment)

  9. May 15, 2006 1:49 pm

    I merely marveled at the variety of please comment buttons you found/made. I really love those blues that Sam brought you, but you know that I am a sucker for blue.

  10. May 15, 2006 1:52 pm

    Hmm, I get the imprssion you’d like us readers to comment. I wonder where I got that idea from? The Targhee yarn looks wonderful, but life is too short to spin stuff you don’t enjoy. 🙂

  11. May 15, 2006 3:07 pm

    I liked all the buttons! I am amazed that you plan to comb that Shetland. I flicked and then drum carded it…but you think -it’s-not-processed-enough? Wow. I won’t tell you I just spun some of it from the lock in the beginning, before I decided to try what I thought was ultra processing…!

  12. Flan permalink
    May 15, 2006 3:18 pm

    Caught me!

  13. May 15, 2006 7:20 pm

    Hi Pru! Wish we could be sitting down to tea today. Hard to keep going back to work when I so want to spin with friends! All of the colors are beautiful.

  14. Melanie permalink
    May 15, 2006 8:39 pm

    What lovely fibery and beady goodies! St. Enda looks mighty fine and I am looking forward to the in use photo. I think the experiment is working. Nice collection of buttons, Pru.

  15. tracy_a/a.k.a sweatergirl permalink
    May 16, 2006 10:10 am

    Here! Just embarrased to see your productivity and my lack of it…

  16. May 16, 2006 11:14 am

    Sometimes I think noone reads my blog, either, but the counter keeps moving – someone’s at least there by mistake! I enjoy your work here, though not the occasional politics. Knitting, wool, spindles and wheel are more fun than any politics any day. Always love the spinning & yarn pics.
    I’m always coming back, though maybe you can’t see me! I read every word, too.

  17. May 16, 2006 12:28 pm

    Mmmm, popcorn…
    I, too, have to admit that I’m another regular reader who often doesn’t comment. Very lame. I’ll do better from now on. Promise.

  18. Zeila permalink
    May 16, 2006 9:50 pm

    Okay, you got me…
    I’m swooning over St Enda.

  19. Laura permalink
    May 16, 2006 9:56 pm

    Ok, Ok, but I don’t actually comment on anyone’s blog. Feel better? I love Pink Tea!

  20. Betty permalink
    May 17, 2006 5:08 pm

    Hi! Another reader posting. Now I’m off to search the ‘net for more information on the clever row counter!

  21. May 17, 2006 6:07 pm

    st.edna looks fantastic! nice prezzies 🙂

  22. May 18, 2006 3:08 pm

    Hey, stranger! I’m starting up a spinning group in the Baltimore area. If you are (or anyone you know is) interested, let me know – I’ll put you on the mailing list and let you know when the times are finalized!

  23. May 19, 2006 7:48 pm

    You know I’m here. And your sleeve looks fine to me. Love the terrorist button. Can’t let them win! Heh.

  24. liz permalink
    June 5, 2006 9:32 am

    just in, I need more time to work on my own spinning:)

  25. Sandra Almgren permalink
    June 14, 2006 2:32 pm

    I’m so pleased to find a (partially) spinning blog! Love your work.

Leave a Reply

