Skip to content

Spring shawl, October weather

June 12, 2006
by

Here’s my finished object.

Oops, wait a minute.

{mysterious mutterings and wand wavings}

There, that’s better.

This is difficult to photograph because the colors are so subtle – butter yellow, pale sage, blue and violet. The yarn was a hank of Blackberry Ridge handpainted silk (see it here on the right hand side of the page) that I got from Vicki via a stash box. It was about 560 yards but I felt like it went on and on and on – I got a wing span on this thing of more than 6 feet, and I could have blocked it bigger if I’d had a wider board. It’s weightless and beautiful and I don’t think I’ll go anyplace fancy enough to wear it. I started it on Feb. 11th but laid it aside for a long time while I worked on St. Enda, and finished it on June 7th. I had enough yarn left to maybe do a couple of extra rows of the edging pattern but I didn’t want to push my luck so I cast off when the pattern said to.

So now I have an ethereal silk Flower Basket shawl, and it’s about 55 degrees and raining. Oh well.
I immediately pulled out the Brooks Farm ‘Harmony’ that I bought at MS&W and started Highland Triangle from Folk Shawls. I’m through about 100 of the 172 rows of the center triangle and I’m eating yarn like mad. I am afraid I should rip out and start over on needles a size smaller, as I don’t have yardage to spare for this project. I didn’t get a picture but it’s knitting up nicely and has a great shine. I consulted Jessica’s shawl completion spreadsheet, and it said that if I’d completed 100 rows out of 176, I was something like 30% done. Yikes! In that case I should definitely rip out, as I’ve used more than 2 ounces of yarn already and I think the border is going to take more than the center… Am I the only person who constantly frets during a project that I will run out of yarn???

My tussah silk is all spun and the hanks are drying. I will get a picture next week after they get an extended amount of whacking. I did pretty well on balancing my bobbins and ending up with not much single left after the plying, and since it was so little I tried spindle plying it from a bracelet. No good. How on earth does anyone ply silk without ultimately having to waste a bunch of extra singles?

Finally I give you a very creative use for a styrofoam soup bowl. See it?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    June 12, 2006 10:05 am

    Your FBS is gorgeous! It’s so gossamer, it looks like dragonfly wings. It would look nice over a sun dress when summer finally comes. Congratulations to Miss Emmy on her graduation to big kids’ school.

  2. June 12, 2006 11:14 am

    What a beautiful shawl! I always worry about running out of yarn too, I get all paranoid about it.

  3. Sam permalink
    June 12, 2006 12:43 pm

    Caro, that is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. I’ll hope for some sunny weather and a fancy dinner so that you can go show that baby off in a manner befitting the both of you. Emmy’s photo is amazing – quite the little graduate. We have da boy’s graduation tonight, but I guess we have to start calling him Da Man now, eh? 😉 I’m looking forward to the Highland Triangle pics – that’s one I’ve long wanted to see in another yarn, and the Brooks Farm should be perfect.

  4. June 12, 2006 12:58 pm

    Your shawl is so dreamy and gorgeous!

  5. June 12, 2006 2:37 pm

    Oh my (sniff, sniff) she’s beautiful! The daughter, that is. Graduating already 😉 I scoffed at the idea when my daughter graduated preschool, but after the event, I decided it was good practice for the grown-up version in 13 years. And the shawl – it is just dreamy. Beautiful!

  6. June 12, 2006 3:03 pm

    Gorgeous whisper of a shawl. Congratulations to Miss Emmy!

  7. CateK permalink
    June 12, 2006 7:57 pm

    Awesome shawl! I really want to learn to knit lace. I am just learning to spin and am completely stumped by the plying. I’m using a drop spindle and feel like I’m doing pretty well making the singles, but how on earth do I take two or three singles and twist them together to make yarn? Do I need to bully my DH into making a Lazy Kate? But what goes at the other end? A ball winder? A Skein winder? I’m very confused….

  8. Denise permalink
    June 13, 2006 1:00 am

    I have a serious case of shawl envy! It’s just beautiful, Caroline.
    Emily is so cute (and she looks like quite the serious scholar in that photo).

  9. Beth permalink
    June 13, 2006 5:44 am

    Don’t worry about fancy. I wear my shawls to the movies, out to dinner at Outback, to walk the dog, etc.
    Wear that thing and love it!

  10. June 13, 2006 8:32 am

    What a lovely shawl! That’s the first lace FBS I’ve seen, I think, and it’s so shimmery and slippery! It has a completely different look and is very beautiful. Do you feel like you’re playing dress-up when you’re wearing it? 🙂

  11. June 13, 2006 8:07 pm

    In your hands, my cast off skein became a beautiful butterfly!

  12. June 13, 2006 9:13 pm

    Congrats to Emmy! Love the headgear, hope there are many happy years of school to come. Love the shawl, too… you will find a use for it eventually, and until then it won’t take up much storage space!

  13. June 16, 2006 7:58 am

    Beautiful!! Enough said.

  14. June 21, 2006 1:20 pm

    Beautiful shawl!

Leave a Reply

