Skip to content

Backlogged

June 19, 2006
by

Will I ever feel caught up again in my life? Maybe when Emily goes off to college?

Before clearing the backlog, I just want to say welcome to Pink Tea to anyone who found us because Stephanie linked to Sam’s wonderful spinning a couple of weeks ago. We manage one post a week here most weeks. Sam and Melanie tend to have the more photogenic and perfect work, but I can’t badger them into posting as often as I’d like them to. Maybe you can help me with that… Meanwhile, I, Prudence, am the Monday-morning regular poster. My spinning is less perfect than theirs, but I have a really cute kid…

My first backlogged item is my 2 ply tussah silk that got finished last weekend.

I have about 14 1/2 ounces of two ply and I think about 1300 yards. This was really a thrill to spin, it was very easy and just flowed from the fold magically into the twist. I have whacked the heck out of these to try to get them to open up and shine again, and it’s sort of working. However, this does make me wonder whether I will have to whack any garment I might make of them, any time it has to be washed. What say you all? whack in the garment?

I like the color just the way it is, and I want to make some kind of short sleeved pullover. I will have to swatch a bunch and then poke around in my Elsebeth Lavold books.

I started spinning one of the one-ounce batts of angora/silk/wool that I bought at MS&W. Tempting as it was to just unroll the batt and wrap it around my neck, I realize that durability might be a problem with that approach.

I’m going for a gnat-hair grist, and sometimes getting it. I am spinning fairly fast on the smallest whorl, but drafting as slowly as I can, so the stuff hangs together and the angora won’t shed. It’s a little scary to contemplate trying to ply something so thin.

The second batt seems to be made up of the same colors (pinkish lavender and sky blue) in the opposite proportions, and I’m thinking of plying the two together so I will have one two-ounce skein when I’m done.

I decided to frog and restart my Highland Triangle shawl out of my Brooks Farm yarn because I didn’t like the gauge I was getting. The photo I took of this looked like a grey mess, so you have to be content with just a detail.

The pattern is pretty much a ‘field of flowers’ motif. The construction of this shawl is interesting – you knit a triangle, then pick up along the two long sides and knit on the border – but knitting that triangle is deadly boring. Thank goodness I only have about 40 rows to go on it. I should have started the border by next week.

I’m also plodding along on my ‘Eleanora‘ sock.

I’m getting something I think will fit well and look nice, but my row gauge is totally whacked. It’s probably partly because I went down a size on the needles to 0 (any sock that’s 72 stitches around would be too big for me on size 1s) and partly because this yarn (Lisa’s Merino Sock!) is so squeezably soft. The pattern says to repeat the 4-row leg pattern 12 times. Guess how many times I had to repeat it to get a leg that was about 8 inches long. 20 times. Enough to make me run screaming down the road at the thought of doing the second sock. But it’s really quite beautiful and maybe after doing the toe, I can make myself cast on right away for the second one. Once it’s cast on I think I will just work on it because it’s there.

The color is ‘St Valentine’ which I think is just a perfect color for these, especially since the stockings they are modeled after were red.

In the who-needs-more-sock-yarn backlog department, two more hanks of Lisa’s Sock!

On the left is ‘Sky Drama’, which I’ve been in love with since she made it but for some reason hadn’t bought in Sock! yet. On the right is her newest color (at least, it was her newest color a couple of days ago… who knows what she’s come up with over the weekend…), Gendarme! Thank goodness I like to knit socks. I clearly need to knit faster. At what point does one’s stash become just one’s colossal backlog??

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2006 8:04 am

    Gorgeous, gorgeous everything!!! First I was in love with the silk spinning, then the silk angora spinning, the shawl is wonderful… but you kept going with gorgeous socks and now I’m completly jealous of the sock yarn!

  2. Melanie permalink
    June 19, 2006 10:03 am

    Wowza, the silk is just gorgeous, as is what shall forever be thought of as the gnat-hair angora blend! I don’t know about knitted items, but ironing my silk blouses seems to bring up the sheen after washing.

  3. Sam permalink
    June 19, 2006 1:00 pm

    A feast for the eyes, Caro. You know I love that silk, especially after washing, so I’m quite anxious to see what you make of it! The sheen on it is simply amazing. I have some St. Valentine’s that’s been marinating, and I might just have to steal your idea here. The angora blend? What a lovely, subtle color. So, do you plan to ply it, or not? I love Monday mornings. 🙂

  4. June 19, 2006 1:07 pm

    That silk is so gorgeous! I love the color, too, and a top out of that will look very elegant on you.
    I’m glad you’re happier with the Brooks Farm at a different gauge. It’s really beautiful! It looks so yummy – almost enought to wish for cool weather. HA!!

  5. June 19, 2006 7:34 pm

    Ohh, everything looks so yummy Caroline! Love, love, love the silk!
    June

  6. Jan Clark permalink
    June 20, 2006 8:25 pm

    You and silk are one fine pair! Your work is an inspiration.

  7. June 21, 2006 9:03 am

    Your spinning is such an inspiration. The silk looks nice and shiny again, and I can’t wait to see the finished angora skein.

  8. June 21, 2006 1:16 pm

    Oh my oh my, that silk is divine.

  9. carol permalink
    June 21, 2006 9:35 pm

    That new sock yarn is just yummy! And it’s not called “backlog” it’s called “planning ahead”! At least that’s what I tell the hubby when he complains about my buying more yarn. I just respond with “it’s for….” and fill in a project. At which point he always goes “oh, well then…” too funny!

  10. June 23, 2006 9:40 pm

    The silk is fabulous! Makes me want to run right downstairs to the spinning wheel…

Leave a Reply

