Skip to content

Mutter, mumble…

June 26, 2006
by

I feel like I got nowhere this week, and I have the pictures to prove it.

I finished spinning my one ounce of angora/silk/wool (ONE OUNCE – it took me 2 weeks) and am ready to spin the other one.

The remaining batt is blue with pink and purple, and the first batt was pink and purple with blue, so I think they will work plyed together. Please let me know if you think this is too nuts.

I plodded further on my Eleanora sock. I didn’t get to spend all that much time on it; it now has a heel and most of a gusset.

I can’t believe how long this is taking. And I have to knit a whole ‘nother one. Sigh. Luckily we’re in the million-degree-weather season and there is no hurry.

I finished the center of Highland Triangle and picked up for the border.

This is still impossible to photograph, you’ll just have to take my word that it’s not a grey blob.

I had extra knitting time last night because Emily conked out early, so here is how I spent it. Knit Highland border row 1. Knit row 2. Knit two thirds of row 3. Notice error in row 1. Tink two thirds of row 3. Tink row 2. Tink half of row 1. Knit half of row 1. Stop. So, for an hour and a half of knitting, I had one row done, plus a whole lapful of shed mohair from tinking the Brooks Farm yarn. Erm.

OK, here is my opinion after knitting this much with this yarn. It is a luxury yarn, and I don’t mean only in price (it was $68 plus tax for my two 8 ounce hanks, which really weigh in at a total of 15.2 ounces). It can’t stand up to abuse. It is making a lovely shawl, but the sections that have been tinked or frogged are a little furry and hairy looking, and I’ve had a lot of mohair in my lap. It is a stunning yarn to look at and to pet. Buy a hank and put it in a basket and pet it as you walk by. But don’t make anything out of it that will have to go on and off over your head, or that will have sleeves put on arms used to carry stuff. A certain designer whose initials are DB responded to complaints about the durability of her yarns by saying that yarns containing these luxury fibers are bound to behave that way. Perhaps that is the case here too. So treat them like the luxury item they are, and be careful what you intend to do with them.

Rant over. I’m sure it didn’t help my attitude toward all of this that as it unraveled into my lap, I was watching rain dripping through the sunroom roof into a pyrex casserole. Rain, good.

Eternally leaky sunroom roof, way bad.

More pretty sock yarn. I think this may be it for the year… maybe.

This is more of the superwash merino from the eBay seller ‘lotusblossom’, similar to the one I used for the Dublin Bay socks a few weeks ago.

Maybe I’ll have more progress next week. Meantimes, I get to attend the first meeting of the new Baltimore spinners’ guild that Amie is starting up. Woohoo! I’ve always wanted a guild!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2006 7:50 am

    Those two colors plyed together will look fantastic! It was good forward thinking on your part. I tend to get seduced by color and texture, and don’t think that far ahead. That’s why I have multiple storage bobbins waiting for the perfect plying combos. There are those who mock me for this.

  2. June 26, 2006 11:53 am

    I think those batts will work wonderfully plied together! I’m planning on doing that with a couple of similar Grafton Fibers batts that I have.

  3. June permalink
    June 26, 2006 5:55 pm

    Thanks for the honest comments on the Brooks Farm Yarn! I figure with Mohair you will end up with Mo – Hair and more hair is definately not needed in this house of cat, dog, Caryn, and June Hair!!
    Gotta say I love to spin the stuff tho! Can’t wait to see your Highland when it’s blocked!

  4. Sam permalink
    June 26, 2006 8:16 pm

    That angora is looking luscious, and those two batts will be beautiful plied. Ms. Eleanora is progressing nicely. I’m sorry that the BF has been shedding so much – bummer – but thanks for the feedback on it. I think you might have bought all the sock yarn in the world now, so you’ll be safe until someone comes up with a new one. 😉

  5. June 26, 2006 8:19 pm

    I love the look of the shawl. Just carry a lint brush with you everywhere you go! It is dreamy soft stuff, though.
    I agree with everyone else that the two angoras will be great together. It’ll be a very subtle barber pole and be a soft, tweedy look.
    The planets were just not aligned right for knitting last week. They’re back in place this week, I think.

  6. Melanie permalink
    June 26, 2006 9:15 pm

    For all its shedding, the shawl looks very pretty. Maybe you’ll just end up loving it once it’s done. I think your two angoras will have a lovely, soft tweedy look plied together.
    I think we were all knitting uder a tinkin’ moon this weekend.

  7. June 26, 2006 9:25 pm

    it doesn’t look like a grey blob, it look like a lovely pool of water 🙂

  8. June 27, 2006 8:47 am

    I am absolutely going to have to look up that sock yarn seller on ebay. Gorgeous sock yarn.

  9. June 29, 2006 8:17 pm

    I think I have guild envy, you lucky duck!
    On the otherhand, you are making me very glad I can’t handle that “luxury” mohairy stuff, it sure is making a beautiful pool though 🙂

Leave a Reply

