Skip to content

In Circles

July 3, 2006
by

Friday evening, I accomplished this

because we had this

Our first meeting of the Baltimore spinners! yay! It was held in the back room at the Cloverhill Yarn Shop in Catonsville and was organized by Amie. By the time I took the photos, a couple of folks had left, but in the first photo you see Sarah, our hostess Chris, and Eunny. Oh, and Emily’s bunny… In the second picture you see Molly, Amie, Erin, and Rebecca.

Now, to me Eunny is a celebrity, because Stephanie has rhapsodized about her work in the past and when Stephanie writes about you, that makes you famous. So it was cool to find out she’s a neighbor. Go see her free pattern for a Print of the Wave stole.

We had a great time and plan to meet once a month. Hooray! If you’re in the area and want to join us, visit our Yahoo group and send a message to the list owner.

I finally finished one of the Eleanora socks.

I grafted the toe last night approximately 10 minutes before I ceased being able to stay awake, but I was determined to have a picture of it today. It’s a really nice sock. I hope I can make myself cast on for the second one tonight, because if I think too much about how long it took to knit the first one I might not get off the ground…

I also did about half of the border of Highland Triangle. The stitches of this shawl are quite simple, but I think it will be very cuddly when it’s finished. The center is field of flowers and the border, if I’m not mistaken, is razorshell.

I started spinning the other angora batt, which is a real slow go because the fibers are so short. Maybe that will be done next week.

Keep cool, and raise a glass tomorrow to your electric company. If they’re like our electric company, they are in danger of drowning in rivers of our money, poor things…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    July 3, 2006 12:48 pm

    Wow, Eleanora is a beauty! It’s exciting that you have a guild where you can meet other spinners and actually sit and spin.

  2. July 3, 2006 1:27 pm

    I’m happy for you that you have a monthly spinning group – I’ve made some great friends at mine.

  3. July 3, 2006 5:29 pm

    Oooh, love that color your spinning up – spill, girl, spill!! Where’d you get it??

  4. July 3, 2006 7:08 pm

    Oh – er – June, I made it – I took some rambouillet fleece I had bought two years ago, and divided it up into parts and dyed them 4 different colors, then blended them with two-row viking combs. There is an entry about the dyeing that was posted last November.

  5. July 4, 2006 8:40 am

    I wondered what happened with that dyeing experiment. Looks like a success. Lucky you, with a new spinning group!

  6. July 6, 2006 5:35 pm

    Friday was a load of fun, wasn’t it? And soon you’ll get to tease Eunny just like the rest of us.
    But I really have to compliment you on those Eleanora socks! Just beautiful. I think I’m going to have to give them a try.

  7. Sam permalink
    July 8, 2006 1:04 pm

    Whoa…was I asleep at the wheel and missed this! The socks – erm, sock – is just beautiful, and you can’t let her pine and be lonely! So the stuff on the wheel is your blending experiment, yes? How are you like it all spun up? Highland Triangle is looking good!

Leave a Reply

