Skip to content

More Yarn

July 24, 2006
by

I’m sure I’m not the only person to find it slightly panic-inducing that my spinning habit just puts more stuff into my stash…

This is 3 ounces of three-ply yarn from the rambouillet fleece that I dyed 4 colors and then blended with combs. I believe it’s about 300 yards. Other than being a tad overplyed (VERY easy to do when you’re navajo plying), it’s a reasonably nice yarn. Incredibly elastic and cushy although not as smooth to the hand as it might be. And not so overplyed that the hank was unbalanced – it twisted almost one full twist when it came off the niddynoddy, and that easily washed out.

It has a slightly tweedy look because I left in some of the neps as I spun – they were almost all in the contrast colors and I hated to be pulling out any of the contrast colors. I think I will want to knit this on size 5 or 6 needles. Depending on how much I get from the rest of the bag, I think it would make a nice jacket or else a simple gansey-style pullover. My hope is that I will get 4 hanks this size, which would be enough for something useable.

Other than plying this on Saturday, I actually didn’t spin this weekend. I combed a little to get out ahead of the next hank of this yarn, but I couldn’t come to a decision about what I wanted to put on the big wheel. So I’ll do a little fiber stash browsing over the next few days and make a choice.
Knitting fared better. I’m starting the heel on my second Eleanora sock, so I hope to have that done in a week or two. I finished the back of Tilia:

This is knitting up fairly quickly, and I just can’t wait to wear it, it has such a nice feel to it. Because I’m using yarn that knits up at a slightly smaller gauge than the pattern calls for, I’m knitting the second size in width but following the length measurements for the smallest size. And I shortened the length of the body about an inch and a half – on me I want this style to be closer to top hip, and 24 inches in body length just seemed a little too long. We’ll see how I feel about that when it’s all done.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2006 10:16 am

    I love the colors in the yarn, especially the fab tweedy bits! I’ll be trying out Navajo plying for the first time as soon as I finish spinning what I have on the bobbin.

  2. July 24, 2006 11:44 am

    That is a FABULOUS skein of handspun. The colors are just intoxicating. You do beautiful stuff!

  3. Jan Clark permalink
    July 24, 2006 2:04 pm

    Gorgeous yarn, I love the rich heathering. It will make a beautiful sweater–with bounce! Tilia is beautiful, too, and it should fit like a dream.

  4. Linda permalink
    July 24, 2006 2:48 pm

    I love the spinning and I love the Tilia. Do you think the bottom edge will smooth out when you wear it? What do you plan to do to it there? It pulls up quite a bit now at the cables. Linda

  5. July 24, 2006 2:56 pm

    Actually, Linda, no I don’t, if you look at the photo of the sweater (linked from last week’s posting), you’ll see how it lies. I think it’s a ‘design feature’ that it pulls up at the lace pattern. The pattern relies on K3tog, I think that’s what pulls it up.

  6. July 24, 2006 4:56 pm

    I feel the same way about not enough knitting to keep up with the spinning!
    LOVE the yarn! And Tilia is such a beautiful sweater!

  7. July 26, 2006 9:21 pm

    love the tweed!

  8. Mel permalink
    July 29, 2006 1:08 pm

    Wow, the blended rambo colours turned out just great! You’ve got a nice tweed there, and the plying is so perfect. Tilia is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

