Skip to content

Nofo

July 31, 2006
by

Yo, I’m talking to you, yeah you’re the one
I knit and I knit and you never get done
I think you’re shackin’ with Penelope when I’m not around
She ravels you out before she puts you down
Knawmean, nofo?

Ahem. NO FO.

This weekend I felt like spindling, so I took all the little test cops off my spindles and plyed them, or else threw them out if they were just not worth the time. Here is a clear demonstration of the difference between crimpy fibers and not-so-crimpy fibers. Both of these hanks were wound on the same niddynoddy. Look how much the bigger one has shortened.

The bigger one is (I think) cormo and rambouillet, and the smaller one is an unusual shetland sample that I got from a shepherd. They both had sat on the spindles for a long time so the twist was pretty inactive – they seemed terribly overplyed till I got them into hot water and they sort of balanced out.

I pulled out a bunch of bluefaced leicester roving to start spinning on the big wheel but it was just too darn hot to sit in that room. A spindle is movable. I got out some camel and silk top that Melane brought me as a MS&W hostess gift last year. It’s a bit challenging, especially when it comes time to do joins, but it’s spinning up pretty nicely.

I’m not sure how big a cop I can put on a little Golding Tsunami. We’ll see how far I can push it. Then I’ll have to figure out the best way to ply it without getting into a mess. Maybe I’ll have to go with the old knitting-needle-lazy-kate approach. I think I have about 8 ounces of this stuff. Emily petted it and immediately wanted me to make something for her out of it. Yeah, right. We’ll see.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2006 7:47 am

    So close on the socks!
    If you want to make a center pull ball with the camel, I found that if I just held on to the ring with the end of the shaft pointed toward the ball winder it came off really slick.

  2. July 31, 2006 9:26 am

    What a beautiful luster that single has! I love silk blends for that very reason!

  3. Sam permalink
    July 31, 2006 12:00 pm

    Ooooo…ahhhh…shiny! Hey, Mom, will you make *me* something out of that? 😉 I love the “off the niddy” pictures – I’ve seen that same thing happen, and it cracks me up. I tood off some very sproingy CVM and put it next to some Romney – amazing difference! So why NOFO, anyway? Just too danged hot to knit?

  4. July 31, 2006 8:13 pm

    that eleanor is a cruel mistress.

  5. Melanie permalink
    July 31, 2006 10:31 pm

    I can’t believe how lustrous the camel-silk is spun up. Eleanor says it’s too hot for socks anyhow – go spindle.

  6. June permalink
    August 5, 2006 8:43 am

    Such gorgeous spindling Caroline! I have so much trouble with silk, I’m envious!

Leave a Reply

