Skip to content

FO, but no…

August 7, 2006
by

Well I did finish the Eleanora socks. But I forgot to take a picture of them. Senility: you get it from your children. Next week.

After completing such a long sock project requiring so much concentration and squinting I decided I wanted a simple sock project – size 1 needles, nothing fancy in any way. So I dragged out the ‘Railroad Rib’ sock from Fibertrends, and my Knitpicks sock yarn that already doesn’t exist anymore.

The color is called ‘Hydrangea’. The pattern is very simple, but not so simple that I would tear my hair out from knitting around and around and aroundandaround. I think the contrasts and striping in the yarn would have overpowered just about any more complex pattern, so this is a good match. The yarn itself is not exactly what I expected. It’s very firm (no air buried in it), and although it’s merino it has a slightly cottony feel. I think these socks will be durable and warm although they are not superwash. It’s a workaday yarn, but at $6 for a pair of socks it seems quite acceptable. I guess the line of yarn itself didn’t sell well, as they’ve gotten rid of three quarters of their colors, including this one. Oh well. I thought I had bought two different colors of this yarn, but I cannot locate the other one, so maybe I didn’t…

I also cast on for the Swallowtail Shawl from the new issue of Interweave Knits, in my handspun angora. I really like how this looks in the pattern.

I realized that this is probably not a wise project for someone like me who always worries about running out of yarn. Unlike Flower Basket, this shawl is sort of a ‘fixed size’ project – you have to do the first pattern 14 times so you’ll have the right number of stitches for the second, and you have to do the second twice (?I think) to have the right number of stitches for the edging. I went up one needle size because my yarn is a tad thicker than the laceweight alpaca the pattern uses, and I have about 30 yards more of yarn than they use – will I make it? or will I run out of yarn with 1/4 of the edging to go? Yikes.

The weather improved this weekend, so yesterday I was able to get into the sunporch and sit with the big wheel again. I dug out from the bottom of my fiber stash this Bluefaced Leicester that I bought from the old Dyeing For Fiber lady who has since sold off her business. I can’t remember the name of the colorway but it was so cool looking that I had to start on it. There is a stretch of wonderful seawater green that is like being at the beach.

After doing the angora, this almost spins itself. I love Bluefaced Leicester. I hope to navajo ply this so that I can preserve the long long color runs I’m getting, instead of ending up with a homogenous marl.

Now, I know that everyone around here seems to be under the misimpression that I’m pretty smart. Well just to straighten you out, here’s a look at the shoulder of Tilia that I bound off on Saturday.

Heh. Shortly thereafter we had this:

Then finally we had this.

We have embarked on the sleeves.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2006 10:55 am

    Swallowtail shawl in angora! You *are* pretty smart. I wasn’t feeling the love for that alpaca yarn (she likes that stuff, huh?), but some handspun angora would be a lovely sub. Well, on the radar, for sure, and I’ll be watching yours.
    And speaking of not too smart, I’m the one who ran out of yarn on the FBS. Twice.

  2. Melanie permalink
    August 7, 2006 1:14 pm

    I sure like the looks of the start of Swallowtail in your handspun. The BFL fiber looks pretty amazing, and it’s in colours I adore and am currently spindling.

  3. August 7, 2006 2:23 pm

    Hmmm, there is quite the color thing going on here, Ms Pru…all the way down to the colors of your Ernst orifice hook, which looks EVER so nice plugged into your wheel like that!

  4. August 7, 2006 6:14 pm

    that angora looks divine. can’t wait to see it evolve.

  5. August 7, 2006 7:30 pm

    I love the hydrangea colourway. Figures they don’t make it anymore. Seems like manufacturers wait until I like something to discontinue it! Ah well.

  6. Diane permalink
    September 3, 2006 6:06 pm

    I just discovered your archived blogs by typing in “Yak Fiber” into a search engine. Wow, finding your blog is wonderful–found your entry on using wool combs, which I will be trying soon on a washed Polworth. Just wanted to thank you for sharing such great info. and photos–I very much want to take a class with Judith McKenzie after reading about your adventures.
    Diane Bloomington/In.

Leave a Reply

