Skip to content

Nupped

August 21, 2006
by

Not much in the way of new pictures this week because I pretty much just worked on Swallowtail, and my sock which doesn’t look that different.

I decided I had enough yarn to do the nupps in the border, and since lily of the valley is my favorite flower I wanted to do it justice. So I did the nupps – 10 rows of nupps, about 20 in a row – that is a LOT of nupps.

But it wasn’t that onerously hard, and I think it was worth it. These babies will look so great when it’s blocked.

Speaking of babies, I have a hard time talking about knitting nupps without thinking of pacifiers… or nursing… or something like that. Heh.

The method that I ended up finding out worked for me involved a small crochet hook (I used an old Boye #3) and some loose knitting. The right-side setup for the nupp was k-yo-k-yo-k all in the same stitch, and then those 5 loops get purled together on the wrong side row. On the wrong side, when I came to the 5 loops, I moved all 5 onto my crochet hook, then I shoved them all up onto the thumbrest part of the hook and held them there while I picked up the working yarn to wrap around and pull through. This opened up the 5 loops so they were pretty uniform and easier to get through without snaggiing one of them.

All I have left on the shawl now is the edging, 16 rows worth. That will take me about a week I’m guessing, given the width of the thing now.

It isn’t that long, but I think this fiber content (60% angora, and the rest is a blend of wool and silk) should stretch out nicely and not spring back too much.

I am almost to the armhole on the first Tilia sleeve, but that has been sort of abandoned as I worked my way through the nupps – it took me half an hour to do each 2-row repeat, and I didn’t want to call it a day having done just one repeat, so there you have it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2006 9:42 am

    OK, you lived through it, I’ll give it a try.
    I’m so glad you’ll have enough yarn! I think the nupps really do add a lot. Very pretty!

  2. Melanie permalink
    August 21, 2006 11:06 am

    The nupps really are very pretty. I’m glad you had enough yarn to get them done, and the spinning is just perfection.

  3. August 21, 2006 3:20 pm

    nuppificent!

  4. Sam permalink
    August 21, 2006 7:12 pm

    Bwahah – nuppificent – I’m going to have to steal that, Vanessa. Caroline, the shawl is looking absolutely gorgeous. I love those colors, and the yarn is so beautifully spun.

  5. August 26, 2006 9:03 am

    Lovely! Thanks for the crochet hook hint. I thought my Knitpicks needles might do the job, but I am a tight knitter, so that is probably optimistic. Now I have another tool (technique?) in the arsenal.

  6. August 28, 2006 7:21 am

    Wow – it looks fabulous! I had so much trouble beginning with nupps that I bought beads to replace nupps in my (different) shawl pattern. I’m glad I ran across your blog. I’m going to try your method to see if I can do 7 into 1 before I haul out the beads. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

